Bogalusa’s Magee makes top all-district team

Published 12:24 pm Friday, July 29, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Bogalusa had one player make the top all-district baseball team for the 2022 season in the 7-3A league.

Aiden Magee is a first-team all-district pitcher.

Two more Bogalusa players are second teamers.

Infielder Jaylon Keys and outfielder Tajdryn Forbes are second-team players.

Four more Bogalusa players are all-district honorable-mention players.

They are Talyn Williams, Dyren Jackson, Michael Burton and Talik Williams.

Archbishop Hannan’s Beau Armstrong is the league’s Most Valuable Player. Armstrong is a first-team all-district designated hitter.

Archbishop Hannan was defeated in the regional round of the Division II playoffs in three games of a best-of-three by state semifinalist Parkview Baptist. Parkview Baptist won the first game, 8-3 with Archbishop Hannan winning the second, 5-3, and Parkview Baptist taking the third contest, 10-4.

The first-team all-district infielders are Jewel Sumner’s Michael Durr, Archbishop Hannan teammates Logan Huth and Billy Colomb, Albany’s Karson Domiano and Loranger’s Brock Kinchen.

The outfielders are Albany’s Austin Watts, Archbishop Hannan teammates Bryce Coe, Colin Herbert and Jacob Palermo and Loranger’s Connor Morris. Coe also made it at pitcher.

Besides Magee and Coe, the rest of the pitchers are Archbishop Hannan teammates Andre Roux, Reid Passauer and Cade Fontenot and Loranger’s Cade Harper. Ballard is also

Besides Armstrong, the designated hitter is Loranger’s Jayden Lee.

Jewel Sumner made it to the bi-district round of the Class 3A playoffs, but was defeated by Iowa, 5-1. Iowa reached the regional round.

Moving to the second team, besides Keys, the rest of the infielders are Loranger teammates Cade Harper and Brandon Graham, Archbishop Hannan’s Cole Mathern and Albany’s Noah Woods.

Besides Forbes, the outfielders are Albany’s Seth Galyan, Loranger’s Kendrick Thompson and Jewel Sumner’s Peyton Prescott.

The pitchers are Albany’s Layton Ballard, Loranger’s Lane Alack and Jewel Sumner’s Dan’l Johnson.

Loranger’s Tristan Ackerman is the catcher.

Jewel Sumner’s Trey Miller is at utility.

Besides Talyn Williams, Jackson, Burton and Talik Williams, the rest of the all-district honorable-mention players are Archbishop Hannan teammates Matthew Verges, Austin Pounds and Hayden Morel, Loranger teammates J.B. Lopinto, Bryce Baham and Brady Burrescia and Jewel Sumner teammates Rilee Sharkey, Connor Forest and Turner Buckley.