Bowling Green athletes reached South State

Published 12:53 pm Friday, April 29, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Bowling Green School had athletes qualify for South State in the District 4-5A Meet that was held on Thursday, April 21 at Silliman Institute.

Aiden Hodges, Zeke Burford, Kyron Cowart and Bowling Green’s 4×100 relay team are all headed to the South State Meet.

Hodges came in second in the shot put with a distance of 42 feet, 11 inches. Teammate Chandler Butts was eighth at 24-5. Oak Forest Academy’s Scott White won at 46-11.

Bowling Green School’s 4×100 relay team was third with a time of 46.91 seconds. The team had Deviun Bickham, Cowart, Josiah Miller and Morgan Verret. Silliman won in 44.92.

Burford was fourth in the long jump at 18-6, as Oak Forest Academy’s Caleb Muse won with a jump of 19-5.

Cowart came in fourth for the 100 meters after running the race in 11.94. Miller was fourth at 12.37. Oak Forest Academy’s Tanner Spears won in 11.43.

Thursday’s competition was a qualifier. The top four from each event made it to South State. The South State Meet was held on April 27 for field events and Saturday for running events. Everything will be at Silliman Institute. Bowling Green School is the only team in District 4-5A from Washington Parish.

Several more athletes also competed for Bowling Green.

Verret and Bickham ran fifth and sixth in the 200 with times of 26.43 and 26.46. Silliman Institute’s Zayne Landry won in 23.54.

Matthew Hicks ran fifth in the 110 hurdles in 20.19. Silliman Institute’s Cannon Carruth won in 15.89.

Hodges and Damion Sellers were fifth and sixth in the discus with throws of 107-4 and 72-5. Silliman Institute’s Cole Caime won at 131-0.

Luke Watson came in sixth for the 400 with a time of 1 minute, 5 seconds. Silliman Institute’s Weston Wales topped the event in 53.63.

Sellers came in eighth in the 800 with a time of 3:20. Columbia Academy’s Casey Haddox-Harvey won in 2:15.

Silliman Institute won the meet with 120 points.

Oak Forest Academy was second with 101, followed by Columbia Academy’s 36, Bowling Green School’s 17 and Brookhaven Academy’s three points.