Franklinton captures District 9-4A title

Published 12:03 pm Friday, April 22, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Franklinton captured the District 9-4A title in baseball.

This week, Franklinton won both games against Salmen to cap off a 6-3 season in league play.

Franklinton and Lakeshore both went 6-3, but Franklinton coach Jeff Tageant said that they are the champs because they defeated Lakeshore in two of their three games against the Titans.

This is Franklinton’s second-straight district title.

On Tuesday, Franklinton won 7-0 behind another solid pitching performance from Micah Wascom.

Wascom went six innings, allowing no runs on four hits with nine strikeouts and four walks.

At the plate, Wascom tripled and drove in a run.

Dillon Pace pitched the seventh and allowed no runs on a hit with a strikeout and a walk.

Tryson Fowler singled, drove in a run and scored a run.

Will Turner doubled and drove in a run.

Trevor Vise singled and had a run batted in.

Rickey Burkhalter singled and scored a run.

Rickeen Burkhalter, D.J. Corkern and Braylon Magee all scored a run.

Franklinton won the district title with an 8-2 victory over Salmen.

Vise went 2-for-4 with a double, three runs batted in and two runs scored.

Banyan Penton posted a hit with three RBIs and a run scored.

Wascom doubled and scored two runs.

Fowler singled and scored two runs.

Kaden Buffinet singled and drove in a run.

Rickey Burkhalter and Rickeen Burkhalter both singled.

Nathan Parden drove in a run, while D.J. Corkern and Magee both scored a run.

Turner was solid on the mound. He went six innings and allowed two runs on eight hits with six strikeouts and three walks.

Pace pitched the final inning of shutout ball with three strikeouts.