BHS player, coach win major awards

Published 2:56 pm Friday, January 21, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Bogalusa’s Ashton Levi has been named the District 8-3A Offensive Most Valuable Player and Lumberjacks coach Cyril Crutchfield is the league’s Coach of the Year.

This season, Levi, who is a sophomore, threw for 2,914 yards with 31 touchdowns and nine interceptions. Levi also got the job done on the ground, running for 776 yards and 14 touchdowns.

“When we first started playing this season, I wasn’t here for that,” Levi said. “I was here to win games. It’s all about positioning ourselves right for the playoffs.”

Levi said that he doesn’t play to be the MVP, but because he loves the game.

“I play because I love the game. That’s just something to say that Ashton Levi got. I play for bigger stuff than that. I want to play for a state championship. It’s good though. I appreciate the coaches voting me MVP,” Levi said.

Crutchfield led Bogalusa to a District 8-3A title after going 4-0 in league play. Bogalusa reached the second round of the playoffs before being defeated by Lutcher, 54-26, to cap off a 7-3 year in his first season with the team.

“Me winning coach of the year is about what the kids were able to accomplish on the field,” Crutchfield said. “That shows the accomplishment they were able to attain. I’m only as good as they are. They should give that award to the kids.”

The defensive Most Valuable Player is Jewel Sumner’s Keydrann Tate.

Bogalusa occupied 11 spots on the first team.

In addition to Levi, the Lumberjacks first-team players are running back Talik Williams, offensive linemen Jayden Brice and Haikem Thompson, wide receivers Reynis Morris, Aquinas Roberts and Tajdryn Forbes, linebacker Keyshawn Manning, defensive lineman DeJon Zeno and defensive back Jamarian Magee. Besides making it at wide receiver, Morris is also a first-team linebacker.

Williams ran for 478 yards and four touchdowns this season. He also caught 18 passes for 396 yards and five scores.

Morris made 40 catches for 505 yards and four scores. Defensively, Morris recorded 15 stops, five solos with an interception and three passes defended.

Roberts tallied 33 catches for 660 yards and three touchdowns.

Forbes eclipsed the 1,000-yard plateau receiving with 67 catches for 1,135 yards and 15 touchdowns.

Manning made 74 tackles with 52 solos, a sack, four for a loss and he recovered a fumble and intercepted a pass.

Zeno posted 73 tackles with 50 solos, one for a loss and a sack.

Magee had 30 tackles and 19 solos with two passes defended and two interceptions.

Four more Lumberjacks are second-team players.

They are defensive linemen Tremon Ratliff and Alijah Mclemore, defensive back Aiden Magee and flex Michael Burton.

Ratliff tallied 30 tackles, 19 solos, four for a loss and a safety.

Mclemore posted 19 tackles, 11 solo stops, four for a loss and an interception.

Magee made 32 stops with 26 solos and an interception.

Burton had 38 tackles, 28 solos, a sack, four for a loss, an interception and a forced fumble.

Bogalusa’s all-district honorable mention players are defensive back Dyron Jackson, offensive lineman Erin Zeno and defensive back Lance Jackson.

Jackson posted 19 tackles with 15 solos, two for a loss and an interception.

Zeno recorded eight stops, four solos and a tackle for a loss.

Jackson had 13 stops, 11 solos.

Moving to the non-locals that made first team, the rest of the running backs are Jewel Sumner’s Brandon Self and Loranger’s Bryce Vick.

Besides Brice, the rest of the offensive linemen are Archbishop Hannan’s Beau Armstrong, Loranger’s Blayne Bankston and Jewel Sumner teammates Tyler Theriot and Joel Fontenot.

Outside of Bogalusa’s wide receivers, Jewel Sumner’s Rodney Brown is a first-team wide receiver.

The tight end is Jewel Sumner’s Daelyn Haney.

The athletes are Archbishop Hannan’s Josh Alonzo and Jewel Sumner’s Darren Thomas.

Defensively, besides Manning, the group includes Albany’s Austin Watts, Loranger’s Christian Alford and Jewel Sumner’s Tylon Milton. Alonzo is also a second-team running back.

Besides Zeno, the rest of the defensive linemen are Archbishop Hannan’s Corey Charleston, Loranger’s Davoris Ard and Jewel Sumner’s Tate.

Besides Bogalusa’s teammates, the defensive backs are Jewel Sumner’s Rodney Brown and Loranger’s Latadrion Hills.

The flex is Jewel Sumner’s Daelyn Haney.

Moving to special teams, Loranger’s Beau Landry is the kicker, while Archbishop Hannan’s  McKaden Thompson is the punter and Jewel Sumner’s Darren Thomas is the return specialist.

Moving to the second team, the quarterbacks are Jewel Sumner’s Andres Moreno and Archbishop Hannan’s Billy Colomb. Moreno is also a second-team all-district kicker.

The running backs besides Alonzo are Loranger’s Eli Johnson, Albany’s Antonio Lopinto and Jewel Sumner’s Brennan Self. Self is also a second-team all-district defensive back.

Besides Thompson, the rest of the offensive linemen are Albany’s Jaelyn Kernard, Archbishop Hannan teammates Nolan Byers and Jason Guy and Loranger’s O.J. Adams. Kernard is also a second-team all-district defensive lineman.

The wide receivers Albany’s Jon Duhe, Loranger’s Jonathan Lewis, Jewel Sumner’s Kameren Cook and Archbishop Hannan’s Hayden Alonzo. Duhe is also a second-team all-district defensive back. Lewis is also a second-team all-district return specialist.

The athlete is Albany’s Jeremiah Doherty.

Moving to defense, the linebackers are Archbishop Hannan’s Wade Rist, Jewel Sumner teammates Kendell Brown and Albert Miller, Archbishop Hannan’s Grayson Pennison and Loranger’s Jordan Mendoza.

Besides the Bogalusa teammates and Kernard, Jewel Sumner’s Michael Lee is a second-team all-district defensive lineman.

Four players are second-team defensive backs with the one player that has not been mentioned being Archbishop Hannan Braden Neal.

Besides Burton, the flex is Loranger’s Ashton Morris.

Pictured is District 8-3A Coach of the Year, Bogalusa’s Cyril Crutchfield.