Hidalgo named Louisiana Freshman of the Year

Published 12:28 pm Thursday, December 30, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Southeastern Louisiana University volleyball player Cicily Hidalgo was named the Louisiana Freshman of the Year by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association, capping a trifecta of regional awards Thursday.

The outside hitter from Opelousas picked up freshman of the year honors earlier this year from both the Southland Conference and the American Volleyball Coaches Association for the South Region.

Hidalgo led the Southland in numerous offensive categories, including points per set (4.14), total points (447.5), kills per set (3.82), total kills (412), attacks per set (11.27) and total attacks (1,217).
She finished the season ranked 43rd nationally in total attacks and 44th in attacks per set.

The only freshman to win a weekly award from the conference this season, she was the Southland’s offensive player in back-to-back weeks during late September. During that stretch, Hidalgo became to first Southland student-athlete to record at least 30 kills in a match since the 2016 season. She was also the only Southland freshman to play every point of every set her team played during the 2021 season.

Her contributions were not limited to offense, ranking second on the team in total digs. Hidalgo recorded 15 double-doubles during the entire season, including six consecutive in mid-October.

For more information about the Louisiana Sports Writers Association, visit the official website at www.lswa.info.

Fans interested in becoming active supporters of the Southeastern volleyball program are encouraged to join the Diggin’ It Club. Lion volleyball alums are encouraged to join the exclusive S Club, which is restricted to Southeastern athletic letter winners.

All membership fees and donations to both the Diggin’ It Club and S Club (volleyball) are available for the exclusive use of the Southeastern volleyball program. Membership information is available by contacting the Lion Athletics Association at laa@southeastern.edu or (985) 549-5091 or visiting www.LionUp.com.

For more information on Lady Lions Volleyball, follow @LionUpVB or @JWhiteSLU on Twitter, @LionUpVB on Instagram, like /SLUathletics on Facebook and subscribe to the SLUathletics YouTube channel.


Player of the Year: Taylor Bannister, LSU

Libero of the Year: Raigen Cianciulli, LSU

Newcomer of the Year: Kylie DeBerg, LSU

Freshman of the Year: Cicily Hidalgo, Southeastern

Coach of the Year: Jesse Zabal, Loyola

First Team 

RS – Taylor Bannister, LSU

OH – Kelsey Bennett, Louisiana

OH – Kylie DeBerg, LSU

OH – Lexie Douglas, Tulane

OH – Cicily Hidalgo, Southeastern

OH – Simone Tyson, Loyola

Libero – Raigen Cianciulli, LSU

Second Team 

OH – Cali Assaley, ULM

MB/OH – Demari Drake, Dillard

OH – Emily Gauthreaux, Nicholls

OH – Coco Gillett, Louisiana

OH – Aryn Johnson, McNeese

OH – Symone Wesley, Northwestern State

Libero – McKenzie Johnson, Louisiana Tech

Honorable Mention 

S – Siena DeCambra, Louisiana; S – Taylor Henigsman, Tulane; S – Ella Larkin, LSU; MB – Vivica Price-Spraggins, Xavier. Libero – Haley Hoang, Northwestern State; Simone Moreau, Loyola.