Pine’s Cochran is a 1st-team all-district volleyball player

Published 1:15 pm Tuesday, December 28, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Pine’s Lady Raiders had a player make the top all-district team in the 4-IV league.

Kaitlyn Cochran is a first-team all-district player this year.

Two more Lady Raiders are on the second team.

Hailey Martin and Mya Starnes are Pine’s second-team players.

Three Pine players are all-district honorable-mention players this year.

Samara Daniels, Cameron Magee and Abbigale Schillings are all-district honorable-mention players.

This season, Pine reached the playoffs as the No. 32 seed, but was defeated by top-seeded and state semifinalist Ascension Episcopal, 25-5, 25-4, 25-10, in the bi-district round of the playoffs.

Pope John Paul II’s Ali Tullis is the Offensive Most Valuable Player.

Springfield’s Dali Hughes is the league’s Defensive Most Valuable Player.

This season, 11th-seeded Pope John Paul II reached the regional round of the playoffs before being defeated by sixth-seeded and state quarterfinalist Catholic of New Iberia, 25-20, 20-25, 25-17, 21-25, 15-13.

Springfield was the 21st-seeded team. Springfield was defeated in the bi-district round by No. 12 and regional round team John Curtis Christian, 25-17, 25-16, 25-15.

The rest of the first-team players include Pope John Paul II teammates Mallory Norton, Gabriella Beaudette and Kayla Benedic, Amite’s Jalencia Pierre, St. Thomas Aquinas teammates Shannon Alack and Julia Bufford and Springfield teammates Katie Riddle and Kadie McCabe.

St. Thomas Aquinas was the No. 30 team and was defeated in the bi-district round, 25-7, 25-13, 25-12, by third-seeded and state-semifinalist The Dunham School.

The rest of the second-team players are Pope John Paul II’s Hailey MIller, Chloe Smith and Savanna Dyer, Springfield’s Mary White and Kaidence George, St. Thomas Aquinas’ Reese Fitzhugh and Amite’s Brenna McKnight.

The rest of the all-district honorable-mention players are Pope John Paul II’s Brooke LeBreton and Peyton Natal, Springfield’s Isabella Alverez, Amite’s Madison Jennings, Alasia William, Ashleigh McKnight and A’yana Weber, St. Thomas Aquinas’ Abby Barras, St. Helena College and Career Academy’s Tree Hookfin, Serenity Cryer, Lexus Murray and Rodenisha Lee and Independence’s Alaysia Mitchell and Anaya Hornsby.