SLU’s Makuvire earns LSWA co-Runner of the Year

Published 3:35 pm Tuesday, December 7, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Southeastern Louisiana University’s Bradley Makuvire earned Louisiana Sports Writers Association Co-Runner of the Year, the LSWA announced Tuesday.

Makuvire, a national championship qualifier, had a remarkable 2021 campaign winning the Southland Conference Championship 8k race. The Zvishavane, Zimbabwe native won three other races as well including the Watson Intercollegiate, LSU Invitational and Nicholls Invitational.

The Lions’ sophomore also finished 11th in the NCAA South Central Regional race earning a spot in the 2021 NCAA Division I National Championship 10k race Nov. 20 in Tallahassee, Fla.

Along with Tuesday’s announcement, Makuvire also accumulated a bevy of awards for the season which included: Southland Male Cross Country Athlete of the Year, USTFCCCA National Athlete of the Week (Oct. 11), two-time Southland Male Athlete of the Week (Oct. 5, Sept. 21) and USTFCCCA All-South Region.

“We are very proud of the season Bradley put together,” said SLU cross country head coach Corey Mistretta. “It was definitely one for the ages. Over the course of the regular season he was undefeated, never losing to a Louisiana competitor. And Being the only male runner to represent a Louisiana University at the National Championships is another testament to his dominance over the Louisiana competition.”

LSU’s Davis Bove was also named Co-Runner of the Year. The rest of the men’s All-Louisiana team included Aaron Gilliam and Gideon Chipelak of McNeese, LSU’s Eric Colston and Jackson Martingayle, and UNO’s Kolyn Saltzman.

LSWA All-Louisiana Superlative Awards:

Men’s Co-Runner of the Year: Davis Bove, LSU

Men’s Co-Runner of the Year: Bradley Makuvire, Southeastern Louisiana

Men’s Freshman of the Year: Omer El-Fadl, McNeese

Men’s Newcomer of the Year: Jacob Kipkogei, McNeese

Men’s Coach of the Year: Brendon Gilroy, McNeese

Women’s Co-Runner of the Year: Katy McDonald, LSU

Women’s Co-Runner of the Year: Arina Kleshchukova, New Orleans

Women’s Freshman of the Year: Lorena Rangel, LSU

Women’s Newcomer of the Year: Alexandra Weir, New Orleans

Women’s Coach of the Year: Houston Franks, LSU

All-LSWA Women’s Cross Country Team

Name School Time (6K)
Katy-Ann McDonald LSU 20:55.0
Ashley LaJocies LSU 20:56.2
Arina Kleshchukova UNO 21:11.3
Therese Olshanski Tulane 21:11.9
Ariana Jimenez UNO 21:14.0
Lorena Rangel LSU 21:16.1
Alexandra Weir UNO 21:28.3

All-Louisiana Men’s Cross Country Team

Name School Time (8K)
Davis Bove LSU 23:28.6
Bradley Makuvire SLU 23:50.8
Gideon Cheplak McNeese 24:04.0
Eric Coston LSU 24:05.6
Aaron Gilliam McNeese 24:09.5
Jackson Martingayle LSU 24:15.3
Kolyn Saltzman UNO 24:24.2

PODIUM CLUB/S CLUB                                                         
Fans interested in becoming active supporters of the track and field program are encouraged to join the Podium Club. Lion alums are encouraged to join the exclusive S Club, which is restricted to Southeastern athletic letter winners. All membership fees and donations to Podium Club are available for the exclusive use of the Southeastern track and field program. Membership information is available by contacting the Lion Athletics Association at or (985) 549-5091 or visiting

For more information on Southeastern Track and Field, follow @SLUTrack and @CoreyMistretta on Twitter, like /SLUathletics on Facebook and subscribe to the SLUathletics YouTube channel.


For ticket information, please contact the Southeastern Athletics Ticket Office at (985) 549-5466 or visit Southeastern is implementing mobile ticketing as the primary source for securing tickets for the 2020-21 season. All tickets will be available via e-mail in a PDF format for fans to download on their phone or print at home. Tickets can also be downloaded to Apple Wallet.