Venture crews competed in annual race

Published 1:16 pm Tuesday, July 21, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Bogalusa Venture Crew 313 and Bush Venture Crew 213 competed in the 59th annual Bogue Chitto three-day, 110-mile marathon canoe race that took place July 16-18.

The event went from the Mississippi Highway 98 Bridge near McComb, Miss. and ended at Lock No. 3 on the Pearl River Navigational Canal in Sun.

The event featured six legs with three the first day, two the second and one the third.

The coed racing division posted a time of 6 hours, 40 minutes and 21 seconds.

The team included Tyler Seals, Lauren Haik, Ella King and Avery Workman.

The Crew 313 boys beginner ‘B’ team won the event with a time of 6:30.06. The second place team was the Crew 313 ‘A’ team that capped off the event with a time of 6:47.28.

The ‘B’ team included Joseph Ikerd and Brycen Baughman. The ‘A’ team had Kenny Mitchell and Layke Mitchell.

Coed and beginner racing teams competed in one leg per day.

In the advanced aluminum racing division, the ‘A’ team won after clocking an 11:25.11. The ‘B’ team was second at 11:31.26.

Crew 313’s ‘A” team featured Rex Perrette, Rory Breland, Carter Wascom, Josh Gulczynski, Zachary Kirkland and Kayden Lewis.

The ‘B’ team included Mike Keen, Isaiah Brown, Ethan Boyet, Nathan Keen and Payton Lewis.

Those racing teams raced the six legs.

The coed alumni winner was the team of Heather Boyet and Dwayne Boyet.

Paul Dauterive and Emile Frey made up the winning team for the Spot Bankston Trophy.

The trophy goes to the winning alumni racing team. It is named for a dedicated supporter of the race who passed away in 1996.

Members of the Washington Parish Sheriff’s Office provided safety patrol boats the entire race to keep paddlers safe.

“We had rain that one day, but didn’t last very long,” Col. Bobby Miller said. “Other than that, the weather was great. It was hot, but I want to commend the kids for the great effort throughout the race. The parents and the people who showed up to watch the race, I think that inspired the kids to their efforts. Well done by the parents and spectators. We are definitely looking forward to next year’s race and returning to Arkansas for the National Canoe Race.”

The rain happened on Thursday.

The crews would typically be competing in the Boy Scouts of American White River Canoe Race this week, but the COVID-19 pandemic caused the event to be canceled. Next year’s race starts on July 28.

Lauren Haik (front) and Carter Wascom cap off the 2020 Bogue Chitto Race at Lock No. 3 in Sun.

Coed alumni winners Heather Boyet (middle) and Dwayne Boyet (right) are pictured next to Buddy Breland with their plaques for winning that event.

Emile Frey (front) and Paul Dauterive paddle on the Bogue Chitto River. The two combined to win the Spot Bankston Trophy. The award goes to the winning alumni racing team. It is named for a dedicated supporter of the race who passed away in 1996.