Bogalusa has 4 honorable-mention all-district players

Published 11:40 am Tuesday, July 14, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Four Bogalusa Lady Jacks basketball players were selected all-district honorable-mention players in the 8-3A league.

Tamirecal Peters, Mary Ladner, Deranique Lee and Dinasia Harris were selected all-district honorable mention players.

Albany swept the major awards.

Haley Meyers is the District 8-3A Most Valuable Player. Cassie Baygnets is the Defensive MVP. Stacy Darouse is the 2019-20 Coach of the Year.

This season, Albany was the fifth-seeded team and reached the quarterfinals, but lost to fourth-seeded and eventual state champion Booker T. Washington, 75-40.

Besides Meyers, the rest of the first team featured teammate Devyn Hoyt, Loranger teammates LuLu Hookfin and Myan Barthelemy and Jewel Sumner’s Jonee’ Sims.

The second-team all-district players are Albany teammates Baygnets, teammate BrookeLynn Saxon, Archbishop Hannan teammates Molly Banta and Catherine Chuter and Loranger’s Madison Shields.

Loranger was the ninth-seeded team in the postseason, but lost to top-seeded and state semifinalist Northwest, 52-31.

Jewel Sumner was the 22nd-seeded team in the playoffs, but was defeated by 11th-seeded and regional round team Caldwell Parish, 57-34, in the bi-district round.

Archbishop Hannan was the 13th-seeded team in Division II, but lost to fourth-seeded and state semifinalist Ursuline Academy, 65-27, in the regional round.

Besides Peters, Lee, Ladner and Harris, the rest of the all-district honorable-mention players are Albany teammates Kellie Landry and Madeline Oubre, Archbishop Hannan teammates Amelia Standridge and Alexis Dale, Loranger’s Aja Bell and Jewel Sumner teammates Nakeah Sims, Jamya Norman, Abby Edwards and Breanna Dykes.