Bowling Green captures District 4AAA Title

Published 2:25 pm Friday, September 13, 2019

Bowling Green captured the District 4AAA championship after defeating Amite School Center, 12-2, in five innings at home on Thursday.
“That was our first goal before the season as a team, was to finish first place in our district so we had the No. 1 seed going into South State,” Bowling Green coach David Hood Burris said. “Now, we’re onto our second goal of finishing in the top four of South State, to make it to state.”
Amite School Center took a 2-0 lead in the top of the first inning on a two-run homer.
Bowling Green responded with three runs in the bottom of the first to go up 3-2. The Lady Buccaneers broke the game open in the second with five runs to take an 8-2 lead before adding four more in the fourth on the way to the 12-2 victory.
Madelyn Burch threw all five innings, allowing two runs on four hits with 10 strikeouts and two walks. At the plate, she had a pair of hits and two runs batted in.
Morgan Carpenter had two hits, three RBIs and a run scored.
Landry Dupont tallied two hits and two runs scored.
Kylee Burris posted a hit and three runs scored.
Anna Claire Crowe put up a hit and scored a run.
KaKa Seal had one hit and an RBI.
Hannah Varnado posted a hit in the victory.
Bowling Green begins play in the South State Tournament on Saturday, Sept. 21, at the University of Louisiana at Monroe.
On Tuesday, the Lady Buccaneers were victorious over Lamar Christian School, 10-0, in a six-inning district contest at home.
Dupont recorded a hit, which was a two-run home run.
Cassidy Spears posted a hit, which was a solo homer.
Carpenter and Hannah Varnado had a hit and two runs batted in each.
Seal tallied a hit with a run batted in and two runs scored.
Crowe, Dixie Camaille and Burris all had one hit.
Burch threw five shutout innings, allowing just one hit with 11 strikeouts and three walks.
Burris pitched a perfect sixth inning with a strikeout.
Bowling Green will be back in action on Saturday, as the Lady Bucs compete in the Jackson Preparatory School Tournament.