Bogalusa places 2 on second-team all-district

Published 2:31 pm Friday, May 24, 2019

Bogalusa’s Jalen Brickmore and Chance Turner were named as second-team all-District 7-3A players this season.
Both players averaged double-digit points this season. Brickmore recorded 16 points a game and Turner was at 11.
Three Bogalusa players were picked as honorable mention all-district players — T.J. Peyton, DaJuan Powell and Quientay Henry.
This season, Bogalusa reached the playoffs as the 28th-seeded team, but lost to quarterfinalist and fifth seeded Abbeville, 77-63.
Archbishop Hannan’s Shawn Beattie was named the district’s Most Valuable Player and his coach Errol Gauff is the district’s coach of the year.
Archbishop Hannan reached the regional round of the Division II postseason, as the eighth seed, but lost to quarterfinalist and eight-seeded Lee Magnet, 78-62
The rest of the first team features Jewel Sumner teammates Christopher Fox and Cameron Lee, Albany’s Tyler Quamme and Loranger’s Boogie Spears.
In addition to Turner and Brickmore, the second team has Albany teammates Caleb Puma and Damien McAlister along with Loranger’s Travis Jones.

Bogalusa’s Jalen Brickmore takes a shot in a game this season. Brickmore is a second-team all-district player.

The remaining all-district honorable mention players are Albany’s Trey Yelverton and J.J. Doherty, Archbishop Hannan’s London Neal and Jordan Martin, Loranger’s Prince Boykin, B.J. Jackson and Courtney Alexander and Jewel Sumner’s Victor Sims, Chester Martin and Cedric Brumfield.
Albany was the No. 24 team in Class 3A, but lost to ninth-seeded and quarterfinalist Washington-Marion, 74-35.
Loranger was the No. 30 team in the Class 3A playoffs, but lost to third-seeded and state runner-up Wossman, 86-33.