Demons’ Pope is the co-District 8-4A MVP

Published 3:08 pm Tuesday, May 14, 2019

Franklinton’s T.Y. Pope has been named a District 8-4A co-MVP and two other Demons made the first team.
Pope averaged a double-double in district play.
He scored 25.7 points and grabbed 13.1 rebounds per game. He also blocked 3.3 shots per contest.
Franklinton’s Kian Conerly and Albert Browhaw are also top-team players.
Conerly had 11.1 points, 3.3 assists and 1.6 steals per game in district. Browhaw put up 9.2 points, 5.9 boards and 2.4 assists per game in league play.
Franklinton had one all-district honorable mention player in Lorenzo Hart.
The Demons reached the Class 4A playoffs as the No. 21 seed, but lost to regionalist and 12th-seeded Huntington, 74-51, in the opening round.
Pope was co-MVP along with Lakeshore’s Hunter Dean.
Lakeshore coach T.K. Kendall was named the District 8-4A Coach of the Year.
The rest of Lakeshore’s first-team players are Justino Vasquez, Ben Kugler and Brendan Perry.
Lakeshore’s all-district honorable mention players are B.J. Foster and Colby Parker.
Lakeshore was the eighth-seeded team in the Class 4A playoffs, but lost to regionalist and No. 25 Woodlawn of Baton Rouge, 60-54, in the bi-district round.
Salmen’s top team players are Devon Lizana, Tahj Jackson and Jaden Williams.
Salmen’s all-district honorable mention players are Donald White and Rashad Gallaspy.
Salmen made it to regionals in the playoffs as the No. 10 team, but lost to seventh-seeded and quarterfinalist Plaquemine, 47-45.
Pearl River’s first-team players are Blake Costello and Drew Soileau.
Pearl River’s all-district honorable mention player is Carlos Simmons.
Pearl River was the 25th-seeded team in the playoffs, but lost to fifth-seeded and semifinalist Carencro, 100-44.