Franklinton’s Lambert qualifies for Class 4A state meet

Published 2:15 pm Tuesday, April 30, 2019

Franklinton’s Spencer Lambert is headed to state after qualifying at the Region 3-4A Meet that took place Wednesday at Thibodaux High School.
Lambert qualified for state in the discus with a third-place finish after a throw of 122 feet, 6 inches. Ellender’s Jared Whitrack won the event at 137-1.
Wednesday’s meet was a chance for athletes to qualify for state. The top three athletes from each event are headed to state. The Class 4A state meet takes place Saturday, May 4 at LSU’s Bernie Moore Stadium.
Jasper LaSalle was fourth in the javelin with a 146-3. E.D. White’s Andrew LeBlanc won at 158-3.
Lorenzo Hart and Lavan Smith were fourth and tied for seventh in the high jump. Hart high jumped 6-0. Smith tied Riverdale’s Trent Marshall and Warren Easton teammates Monsour Mbodj and Dylan DeCuire at 5-8.
Quantavious Brumfield was eighth in the 800 meters with a time of 2 minutes, 13 seconds. Ben Franklin’s Isiah Travis won in 2:00.
Shayland Allen took eighth in the 400 after running in 53.62 seconds. Edna Karr’s Deontre Ford won in 49.44.
Carson Ragas tied for 11th in the shot put and Mason Givens were 13th. Ragas and Warren Easton’s Warren Parker recorded distances of 37-8.25 and Givens was at 37-6.5. Lakeshore’s Zach Bernard won with a 48-3.
Kian Conerly clocked an 11.95 for 11th in the 100. Ford topped the event in 11.06.
Hart and Smith were 13th and 15th in the triple jump with distances of 37-9 and 36-0. Lakeshore’s Cullan Ziegler won at 44-3.5.
Brumfield was 14th for the 1,600 with a time of 5:31. Belle Chasse’s Louden Boudreaux ran a 4:38 to win.
Bryan Williams ran a 25.23 in the 200 for 14th. Ford was the winner in 21.78.
Hart was 15th in the 400 with a time of 53.82. Ford won in 49.44.
Sidney Richardson took 15th in the 110 hurdles after running a 21.07. Edna Karr’s Michael Clements was the winner after clocking a 14.75.
Franklinton’s 4×200 relay team was 12th in 1:39. The team had Stacy Ard, Williams,
Cameron Sims and Corinthious Dickerson.
Warren Easton won in 1:28.
Edna Karr won the team competition with 109 points in a close finish, as 18 teams posted at least one point.
Karr won the meet by just four points over Warren Easton.
Lakeshore was third with 56 points, followed by Carver Collegiate’s 47 and E.D. White rounded out the top five with 45 points. Franklinton tied Helen Cox for 13th with 14 points.
In the girls, Aleria Dillon was sixth in the shot put with a distance of 29-6. Warren Easton’s Kiana Anderson was the winner at 33-2.25.
Drahcir Magee tied Academy of Our Lady teammates Alexis Marshall and Char’Donnay Hawkins as all three cleared the 4-6 bar. Edna Karr’s Alacia Myles won at 5-5.
Magee finished 11th in the 300 hurdles with a time of 58.99. Edna Karr’s Sierra Session won in 45.49.
Magee was 13th in the long jump with a distance of 13-11.25. Ben Franklin’s Angel Williams won with a jump of 19-1.
Kasidy Nielson was 13th in the 200 after clocking a 28.35. Edna Karr’s Malaysia Sinegal won in 24.97.
Danaria Magee was 14th for the javelin with a throw of 68-10. South Lafourche’s Evan Duet threw a 126-3 to win.
Derranajuh Warren was 15th in the 100 with a 14.14. McDonough 35’s Mone Octave won in 15.24.
Franklinton’s 4×100 and 4×200 relay teams were eighth and 10th with times of 53.06 and 1:54 respectively. Both teams had Jalyn Bickham, Tamirria Thomas, Warren and Nielson.
Edna Karr won both events, the 4×100 and 4×200 in 49.05 and 1:42 respectively.
Vandebilt Catholic won the team competition with 119 points, as 20 teams posted at least one point.
Edna Karr wasn’t far behind with 102, followed by Carver Collegiate’s 44, E.D. White’s 35 and McDonogh 35’s 31 points rounded out the top five. Franklinton was 20th with one point.