FHS’s Conerly, Allen, Brumfield win events in district

Published 2:25 pm Wednesday, April 24, 2019

Franklinton’s Kian Conerly, Shayland Allen and Quantavious Brumfield all won an event during the District 8-4A Meet that took place at Lakeshore High School on Tuesday, April 16.
Conerly was victorious in the 100 meters after running it in 11.25 seconds. Teammate Brian Williams was fifth in 11.78.
Allen topped the 400 in 55.66.
Brumfield ran the 1,600 in 5 minutes, 16 seconds for the win.
This was a qualifying meet. The top four finishers from each event advance to the Region 3-4A Meet that takes place Wednesday at Thibodaux.
Several more Demons are headed to regionals.
Lorenzo Hart was second in the triple jump and teammate Lavan Smith took third with distances of 39 feet, 6.5 inches and 38-5, respectively. Lakeshore’s Cullan Ziegler won at 43-2.
Spencer Lambert was runner-up in the discus with a throw of 122-6. Lakeshore’s Zachary Bernard won at 143-2. Franklinton’s Dakota Gulsby was fifth at 94-10.
Franklinton’s 4×200 relay team was third with a time of 1:38. The group included Cameron Sims, Williams, Stacey Ard and Corinthuous Dickerson. Lakeshore won in 1:33.
Williams was third for the 200 with a 24.26. Lakeshore’s Spencer Jordan clocked a 23.72 for the victory. Sims took seventh in 25.28.
Smith and Hart were third and fourth in the high jump with heights of 6-0 and 5-10. Hart tied Salmen’s Jaylyn Williams for second. The tiebreaker is fewest misses, so Williams was second and Williams was third. Lakeshore’s Brendan Perry won at 6-2.
Carson Ragas and Mason Givens took third and fourth in the shot put, with distances of 40-3.5 and 35-1.5. Bernard won at 48-8.
Jasper LaSalle was third during the javelin with a throw of 142-0. Bernard topped the event with a 162-0. Franklinton’s Caleb Brown was fifth at 135-7.
Sidney Richardson was fourth in the 110 hurdles with a time of 20.17. Salmen’s Edwin Pierce won in 16.72.
Hart was fourth for the 300 hurdles at 48.49. Pierce was the winner of that event after completing the race in 42.86. Richardson was seventh in 52.31.
Also for the Demons, Brown was fifth in the long jump with a distance of 18-4.25. Ziegler’s 20-9.5 was winning result.
Lakeshore won the team competition with 105 points, as four teams scored at least one point.
Salmen was second with 60 and Franklinton tied Pearl River for third with 57 points.