FHS’s Hughes is a 1st-team all-district volleyball player for 2018 season

Published 8:35 am Wednesday, January 2, 2019

A Franklinton volleyball player is a first-team all-district player in the District 5-II league.
Kennedy Hughes is a top-team player.
Two more Lady Demons are all-district honorable-mention players.
Shalay Allen and Olivia Kennedy are all-district honorable-mention players.
St. Scholastica Academy’s Madison Meyers is the league’s Most Valuable Player.
Teammate Katie Garraway is also a first-team player.
Lakeshore’s first-team players are Sarah Tucker, Madison Ellington, Abby Hebert and Emilee Breaux.
Two Salmen players are first-team players, including Alexandra Skidmore and Theresa Brown.
St. Scholastica was the 15th-seeded team and reached the regional round of the playoffs before falling to second-seeded and state runner-up Cabrini, 25-15, 29-27, 25-10.
No. 13 Lakeshore was a regional round team and lost to fourth-seeded and quarterfinalist South Lafourche, 23-25, 25-21, 25-14, 25-22.
No. 18 Salmen lost to St. Scholastica Academy, 25-10, 25-6, 25-22, in the opening round of the postseason.
The second-team players are Lakeshore’s Claire Ecuyer and Laney Stiebing, Salmen’s Lauren Barnes and St. Scholastica Academy’s Evey Waguespack, Frances Ehrhardt, Ashtyn Ledoux and Raleigh Quinlan.
The rest of the honorable-mention all-district players are Lakeshore’s Abby Oosterling, St. Scholastica Academy’s Anna Champ and Olivia Vogt and Salmen’s Bethany Nicaud.