Local canoe teams continue success

Published 12:37 pm Friday, July 27, 2018

The 57th annual Bogue Chitto Race capped off on Saturday at Lock No. 3 in Sun as Bogalusa Venturer Crew 313 and Bush Venturer Crew 213 competed.
Six canoe teams took part across four levels of racing that included the old timers.
The race ran from Thursday through Saturday. It was 110 miles and took place over three days. The beginners were in three of the six legs.
Crew 313 boys beginners and Crew 213 girls beginners captured titles.
The 313 team finished in seven hours, six minutes, 40 seconds.
The group included Matthew Kirkland and Gage Duncan.
Crew 213 tallied a time of 7:20:28.
The 213 team included Avery Workman, Tori Palmer and Ella King.
Crew 313’s boys novice team was victorious in 11:33:27, with a team of Isaac Wascom, Carter Wascom, Hunter Fussell and Kayden Lewis.
Two teams competed in the advanced aluminum race.
The first place team, which featured Chris Weintritt, Ian Hennesy, Rory Breland, James Stillwell III and Josh Gulczynski, clocked a time of 11:05:31.
The second place team finished in 11:14:51 with a team of Matthew Dennis, Jacob Stillwell, Rex Perrette and Zachary Kirkland.
The old timers joined the race for the final day. The team of John Gulczynski and Roo Breland were the winners.
Breland and Gulczynski also took home the Spot Bankston Trophy, which is one of the coveted awards and goes to the winning alumni racing team.
The trophy is named for a dedicated supporter of the race who passed away in 1996.
Members of the Washington Parish Sherriff’s Office, Franklinton Fire Department and Washington Parish Drug Task Force helped keep the participants safe throughout the race.
This week, the Crew 313 and Bush Crew 213 are in Arkansas for the 52nd annual Invitational White River Canoe Race. The competition began yesterday and runs through tomorrow.

Jacob Stillwell (front) and Matthew Dennis (back) race on the Bogue Chitto River on Saturday morning.

Avery Workman (left) and Zachary Kirkland (back) get set to complete the race at Lock No. 3 in Sun.

Pictured is the first-place Advanced Aluminum Racing Team in the 2018 Bogue Chitto Race. From left are presenter Mike Henley, Chris Weintritt, Ian Hennesy, Rory Breland, James Stillwell III and Josh Gulczynski and presenter Melissa Weintritt.