Demons named to all-district teams

Published 4:17 am Saturday, July 7, 2018

Franklinton had several players make the top all-district team for the 8-4A league.

Pitcher Nate Bracey, infielder Trent Varnado, outfielder Richard Berry and utility players Wyatt Verret and Jared Jenkins were named first-team players.

During district play, Bracey went 2-1 with a 3.15 ERA. Bracey tallied seven strikeouts and seven walks over 20 innings.

Varnado had a .276 batting average with three RBIs and three doubles in district competition.

Berry was a .343 hitter with six RBIs and two doubles in league play.

Verret tallied a 2-1 district record and a save on the hill with a 0.91 ERA. At the plate, he hit recorded four runs batted during league play.

Jenkins was a .320 batter with two runs batted in along with a double.

Three more Demons made the second team in Garrett Maxwell, J.P. Magee and Landon Keller.

This season, Franklinton was the 19th-seeded team in the playoffs, but came up short to No. 14 Neville, 6-5, in the opening round. Neville lost in the regional round to state runner up two games to none in the best-of-three.

Salmen’s Andre Beaudoin is the District 8-4A Most Valuable Player and Brian Babin is the league’s Coach of the Year.

Salmen was the 10th-seeded team for the playoffs and lost in the opening round of postseason to No. 23 Rayne, 3-1. Rayne was made the quarterfinals, but lost to semifinalist and No. 31 Westgate two games to none.

In addition to Bracey and Beaudoin, the first-team pitchers are Pearl River’s Chance Lombard and Lakeshore’s Chris Olivier.

Lakeshore’s Chris Singletary is the catcher.

Besides Varnado, the infielders include Lakeshore’s J.T. Singletary, Pearl River’s Dylan Kavanaugh and Salmen teammates Joey Smith and Deionte Norris.

Outside of Berry, the outfielders are Pearl River’s Austin Stodard and Lakeshore’s Jacob Bernard.

Besides Verret and Jenkins, the utility players are Lakeshore’s Christian Westcott, Pearl River’s Matthew Charbonnet and Salmen’s Nick Charbonnet.

Lakeshore made the postseason as the No. 17 team, but lost to 16th-seeded and regional round team North DeSoto, 11-1, in the first round. North DeSoto was topped by top-seeded Breaux Bridge, two games to zero.

Pearl River made it to the playoffs as the No. 24 team, but suffered a 3-2 loss to ninth-seeded Benton. Benton captured the state title after defeating third-seeded DeRidder, 13-2.