Demons baseball holds end-of-year banquet

Published 12:29 am Saturday, June 9, 2018

By Toni Tageant
Special to the Daily News

The Franklinton High School baseball team and Diamond Girls recently held their end-of-the-season banquet under the lights and on the infield at Demon Diamond. Players, parents and friends enjoyed a jambalaya supper prepared by Frank Corcoran, assisted by the “Vice Family” crew.
Following the meal, awards were presented. The Demons were 17-10 on the season, District 8-4 runner-up, and made the playoffs before losing 6-5 to Neville. The playoff appearance was the 27th time coach Jeff Tageant has led the Demons to post-season play in his 30 years as head coach.
Diamond Girls receiving special awards included Angel Solano and Hailey, Sparkle Award; Kacie Turnage and Mallorie Pittman, Spirit Award; Sarah Gross and Ashley Miller, Miss Congeniality; Haley Varnado and Kaylan Spears, Leadership Award; Bailey Davidson and Jordyn Miller, Diamond Award; and Selena Spears MVP Diamond Girl.

Junior shortstop Wyatt Verrett was presented the MVP Award by Coach Tageant. Wyatt was selected by his teammates for this honor, which he then shared with them for making his success possible.

Senior Ashton Corcoran (left) received the Demon Award. A transfer student, he immediately became a team player and worked to excel in whatever role or position he was needed.

Pictured are Franklinton’s All-District 8-4A second-team selections. From left are outfielder Landon Keller, catcher J.P. Magee and pitcher Garrett Maxwell. Magee also received the Robert “Coach T” Award from the 1967 State Champs for having the highest GPA.

Pictured are Franklinton’s District 8-4A first-team selections. From left are shortstop Wyatt Verrrett, pitcher Jared Jenkins, third baseman Trent Varnado, outfielder Richard Berry and pitcher Nate Bracey. Bracey was also presented the “Ms. Jewel” award for “consistently displaying an unselfish attitude and characteristic of an outstanding teammate.”

Pictured are seniors Ashton Corcoran (left) and J.P. Magee receiving personalized bats from Marucci Sports. Franklinton head coach is pictured between Cocoran and Magee.

Pictured is Franklinton’s coaching staff. From left are Dustin Khale, Nate Murray, Evan Tageant, Jeff Tageant, Clay Tageant and Drew Brooks.