Mt. Hermon’s Holmes, 4×200 relay team headed to state

Published 12:54 am Saturday, April 28, 2018

Mt. Hermon School’s Za’byeaus Holmes and a Yellow Jackets relay team are headed to state after the Region 3-B Meet that took place Tuesday at the Lutcher Track.
Holmes took second place in the 400 meters, after completing the race in 54.44 seconds. J.S. Clark’s Levier Joseph won the event in 52.27.
Mt. Hermon’s 4×200 relay team is going to state after coming in third with a time of 1 minute, 40 seconds. J.S. Clark ran a 1:34 to win.
The team featured Clinton Roux, Trye Brumfield, Keondre Bunch and Treyvon Roberts.
Tuesday’s meet was the state qualifier. The top three finishers from each event made it to the Class B state meet. The state meet will be Thursday, May 3, at Bernie Moore Stadium at LSU.
Mt. Hermon is the only Class B school in Washington Parish.
Several other Mt. Hermon athletes also competed in the regional meet.
Holmes was fourth in both the 100 and 200, with times of 11.73 and 25.21, respectively. Tyre Brumfield came in eighth in the 200 in 27.91. J.S. Clark’s Trayon Robinson won both events, with times of 11.33 and 23.45.
Tristan T. Brumfield ran fifth in the 300-meter hurdles with a time of 53.68, as J.S. Clark’s Justin Washington won in 44.71.
Lafell Thomas was fifth in the long jump, with a distance of 18 feet, 6 inches. Crescent City Christian’s Eric Gross won at 20-6.5.
Tristan T. Brumfield and Tyre Brumfield posted sixth and seventh place finishes in the 110-hurdles with times of 21.23 and 23.24. Washington was victorious in 17.20.
Chance Rondo was eighth in the 1,600 after running it in 5:57. Runnels’ Sam Matthews won in 4:58.
Jeremy Bickham was eighth in the javelin with a throw of 107-2. Hathaway’s Zachary Phenice was the winner with a distance of 149-11.
Mt. Hermon’s 4×100 and 4×400 relay teams were fifth and sixth with times of 49.50 and 4:12. J.S. Clark won both races, with times of 46.33 and 3:47.
The 4×200 team had Roux, Trye Brumfield, Keondre Bunch and Treyvon Roberts. The 4×400 team included Tristan Brumfield, Thomas, Roberts and Keondre Bunch.