FHS’s Delatte captures 100-meter hurdles in meet

Published 12:13 am Saturday, April 7, 2018

COVINGTON — Franklinton’s Porsha Delatte was victorious in the 100-meter hurdles at the CHS-Allie Smith Invitational on Thursday at Covington High School.
Delatte ran the hurdle-event in 17.37 seconds to win the close race, as Ponchatoula’s Niya Hunter ran 17.41 to take second.
Delatte was also third in the 300 hurdles, after completing the race in 52.70. Teammate Drahcir Magee was eighth at 59.84. Hunter won that event in 50.11.
The Lady Demons’ 4×100 and 4×200 relay teams both ran third.
The 4×100 team finished in 53.34. The team consisted of Jayln Bickham, Kassidy Nielson, Delatte and Raelyn Gross.
Salmen won in 51.76.
The 4×200 team ran in 1 minute, 54 seconds. Franklinton’s runners were India Dickerson, Bickham, Gross and Tamirria Thomas.
Fontainebleau won in 1:50.
Franklinton was the only team from Washington Parish to compete in the meet.
Gross took fourth in the triple jump after posting a 31-7. St. Thomas Aquinas’ Chalah Rock was the winner at 35-5.
Gross and Thomas ran seventh and 11th in the 100 meters, with times of 13.68 and 14.17, respectively. Salmen’s Trinity Benson won the event in 12.90.
Miriam Tate was seventh for the javelin with a throw of 74-8.  Northshore’s Easen Mentel won at 105-4.
Magee tied Ponchatoula’s Chavanda Pierre and Cabrini’s Brionne Woods for seventh in the high jump at 4 feet, 4 inches. Fontainebleau’s Ainsley Scott won at 4-10.
Nielson and Derranjuh Warren were eighth and 10th in the 200 at 29.27 and 29.63. Ponchatoula’s Yaya McClendon won after running a 27.46.
Yvone Tran ran 10th in the 1,600 with a time of 6:36. Christ Episcopal School’s Svenya Stoyanoff won in 5:26.
Magee was 11th in the long jump with a distance of 13-3. Rock’s 16-11 was the winning jump.
Alexia Mason and Aaliyah Young were 12th and 15th for the 400 with times of 1:15 and 1:21. McClendon was victorious in 1:01.
Tate was 13th in the discus with a throw of 55-8. Northshore’s Corin Knight was the winner at 93-9.
Fontainebleau won the team competition with 125 points, as 11 teams posted points.
Ponchatoula was second at 101, followed by Cabrini’s 63, Northshore’s 59 and St. Thomas Aquinas’ 47. Franklinton was eighth with 32 points.