Several Wildcats make 1st-team

Published 12:39 am Wednesday, April 4, 2018

Seven Varnado players were selected to the District 8-1A first-team this season.
Four offensive players from the Wildcats were picked for the top team.
Quarterback James Williams, running back Desmond Harry, wide receiver Armontee Kemp and lineman TyDarrious Myers are first-team players.
Defensively, a pair of linemen and a linebacker are on the first team.
Linemen Adrian Bickham and Brandon Lee along with linebacker Darian Vargas make up the Wildcats’ top-team players on the defensive side of the ball.
Varnado’s second-team players are running backs Jadarrell Magee and Jacorrius Bickham along with offensive lineman Tyran Williams are the second-team offensive players.
The defensive players feature linemen Jamyah Montgomery and JoNathan Green, linebackers Christian Matthews, Ardarrel McGowan and Korterrius Mingo and defensive back Kaleb Allen.
The honorable-mention all-district players include defensive back Jeroderick Robinson and special teams player Kevis Brooks.
Varnado went 8-4 this season with half of the losses coming to two teams that met up in the Class 1A state semifinals in West St. John and Logansport. Top-seeded West St. John defeated Logansport, 34-18, and went on to win the state title with a 20-14 win over No. 3 Kentwood.
Varnado reached the quarterfinals as the fourth-seeded team, but lost to Logansport, 40-18, in 4 versus 5 match up.
West St. John teammates Kylan Duhe and Covan Barnes are the offensive and defensive Most Valuable Players respectively.
Besides Harry, the rest of the first-team running backs include Duhe and Covenant Christian Academy’s Devonté Johnson.
Besides Kemp, Houma Christian School’s Jecorie Ward and West St. John’s Trenton Grow are first-team wide receivers.
Covenant Christian Academy’s Zach Boquet is the tight end.
Besides Myers, the first team offensive linemen are Houma Christian School’s Jeremy Bardarson and West St. John teammates Brett Bailey, Calieb Batiste and Jayuan Pierce.
The first-team kicker is Covenant Christian Academy’s Austin Champagne.
The athletes are St. Martin’s Episcopal John Hurley and West St. John’s Dontrell Davis. Davis is also a first-team defensive back and first-team kick returner.
Besides Bickham and lee, the rest of the defensive linemen are from West St. John that include, Covan Barnes, Kelon Gardner and Horace Lewis.
Besides Vargas, Covenant Christian Academy’s Channing Holloway, Houma Christian School’s Zachariah Trujillo and West St. John teammates Niko Roy and Zyron Wilson are first-team all-district linebackers.
Besides Davis, the rest of the defensive backs are Covenant Christian Academy’s Anthony Ruffin and West St. John teammates Alyjah Borne and Wantrell Williams.
The punter is Covenant Christian Academy’s Trey Aucoin.
The flex is St. Martin’s Episcopal’s Will Lepold.
Covenant Christian Academy reached the Division IV playoffs as the 13th-seeded team, but lost to fourth-seeded and eventual state champion Lafayette Christian, 34-12 in the first round. Lafayette Christian defeated sixth-seeded Ascension Catholic, 10-0, in the state championship game.
Houma Christian School was the 11th-seeded team in Division IV, but lost to Ascension Christian in the first round, 63-7.
St. Martin’s Episcopal was the 16th-seeded team in Division IV, but lost to top-seeded Vermilion Catholic in the opening round, 40-7. Vermilion Catholic made it to the semifinals before falling to Lafayette Christian, 30-28.