Demons well-represented on all-district teams

Published 12:03 am Saturday, March 10, 2018

Franklinton players took up 12 spots combined between first-and-second all-district teams for the 8-4A league.
Franklinton linebacker Lamount Harris and defensive back Keandre Martin were named to the top defensive team.
Offensively, lineman Josh Gubert, running back Trequan Charles and wide receiver Lagarian Bell are on the first team.
Quarterback Tahj Magee is the athlete. Magee is also a second-team return specialist.
During the regular season, Harris made 115 tackles, including 10.5 for a loss, with four quarterback hurries, one pass defended, four fumble recoveries, two caused fumbles and a blocked punt.
Martin recorded 42 tackles, intercepted five passes, defended two passes, caused three fumbles and blocked two punts.
Charles ran for 707 yards and eight touchdowns this season and he caught 17 passes for 121 yards. Charles also passed for 182 yards and a touchdown.
Bell caught 43 passes for 478 yards and three scores.
Magee threw for 1,157 yards with 11 touchdowns and eight interceptions. He also ran for 1,112 yards with 11 scores. Magee caught eight passes for 106 yards and two scores. Magee also tallied 67 kick return yards.
The Demons’ second-team players are defensive lineman Carson Ragas, linebacker James Bickham, defensive back Kian Conerly, offensive lineman Lance Stermer, running back Rakerian Conerly.
Ragas made 37 tackles, two for a loss, he recovered a fumble and he made two sacks.
Bickham tallied 86 tackles, one for a loss, with three forced fumbles, three fumble recoveries, a sack and a pass defended.
Kian Conerly posted nine tackles with two picks, two passes defended and two fumble recoveries.
Rakerian Conerly ran for 289 yards with five touchdowns. He also caught 40 passes for 551 yards and six touchdowns.
Franklinton’s all-district honorable mention players are Austin Thomassen, Rondrick King and Jeremy Richardson.
This season, Thomassen made 15 tackles, including two for a loss, and 1.5 sacks.
King had 39 tackles, eight passes defended, an interception and a fumble recovery.
This season, Franklinton posted a 3-8 record that included the playoffs. The Demons made the playoffs as the No. 27 seed. Franklinton lost to sixth-seeded Leesville, 38-20 in the opening round of the playoffs. Leesville lost to No. 11 Rayne, 28-7, in the second round.
The Demons played a tough schedule this season. Everybody the Demons lost to this season won at least one playoff game. Nine of Franklinton’s 10 opponents made the playoffs, as they played Salmen twice. One team was a state finalist in Lakeshore. Another made the semifinals in Neville. Two made the quarterfinals in Covington and Neville and two more had their season conclude in the second round in Tylertown out of Mississippi and Leesville.
Lakeshore defensive lineman Tylan Driver is the district’s Defensive Most Valuable Player.
Teammates quarterback Chris Penton and wide receiver Jacob Bernard are the co-Offensive MVPs and Titans coach Craig Jones is the league’s Coach of the Year. Bernard is also a first-team wide receiver, the first-team return specialist and second-team punter.
Penton is the first-team quarterback.
In addition to Driver, the rest of the top team’s defensive line has Lakeshore’s Zach Bernard along with Salmen teammates Garrett Crawford and Rashawn Gallaspy.
Besides Harris, the rest of the first-team linebackers are Lakeshore’s Cody Orvin and Salmen teammates Jeremy Hudson and Antonio Marquez.
Besides Martin, the rest of the defensive backs are Lakeshore teammates Michael Gauthier and Adam Randolph along with Salmen’s Eddie Smith. Smith is also a second-team receiver.
Lakeshore’s Christian Westcott is the defensive flex and is also a second-team linebacker.
Salmen’s L.J. Leonard is the top team’s punter. Leonard is also the second-team quarterback.
Besides Gubert, the rest of the first-team offensive linemen are Lakeshore teammates Brannan Lanclos and Cedric Hyman and Salmen teammates Chris Jones and Chris Merz.
Besides Charles, the first-team running backs are Lakeshore’s Josh Hayes, Salmen’s Aaron Williams and Pearl River’s Courtney Moore.
Besides Bell and Bernard, the first-team receivers are Lakeshore’s Jalen Willis and Salmen’s Brayden Gabel.
Lakeshore’s Josh Massa is the first-team kicker. Massa is also a second-team receiver.
On the second team, defensive line includes Lakeshore’s Slade Ziegler, Salmen teammates Michael Mickey and Malik Parker and Pearl River’s Zach Ussery, in addition to Ragas.
Besides Bickham and Westcott, the rest of the linebackers are Lakeshore’s Zach Womack and Pearl River’s Roy Smith.
Besides Conerly, the rest of the defensive backs are Lakeshore teammates Mackie Bellott and Brendan Perry, Pearl River teammates Matt Eisonsohn and Hayden Dejean and Salmen’s Lawrence Spears.
The offensive line includes Lakeshore’s Cayden Guzzardo, Pearl River’s Johnathan Hill and Salmen teammates Eugene Wellington and De’ryk Marigny, as well as Stermer.
In addition to Conerly, the rest of the second-team running backs are Pearl River’s Corey Warren, Salmen’s Mikell Marco and Lakeshore’s Max Lowery.
Besides Massa and Smith, the second-team receivers are Lakeshore’s Jake Smiroldo and Salmen’s Anthony Mosely.
The punter is Pearl River’s Hunter Martensson.