Delatte victorious in 100-meter hurdles

Published 2:34 pm Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Franklinton’s Porcha Delatte was victorious in the 100-meter hurdles at the 2018 PHS Invitational Track Meet that took place Friday at Ponchatoula.
Delatte won the event in 16.84 seconds.
Ponchatoula’s Allaisha Weary was second at 18.46.
Delatte took fourth in the 300-hurdles in 54.70. Teammate Drahcir Magee ran it in 1 minute, 6 seconds to finish sixth. Ponchatoula’s Niya Hunter won it in 51.61.
Franklinton’s Raelyn Gross posted a fifth-place finish for the 100 after running a 13.64. Teammate Kassidy Nielson was 11th at 15.14. Destrehan’s NiJah Smith won at 13.07.
Franklinton’s Tiara James and Tamirria Thomas were eighth and ninth, respectively, in the 200 with times of 32.63 and 33.17. Ponchatoula’s Yaya McClendon won the event in 28.09.
Franklinton’s Yvonne Tran took ninth for the 800 and 1,600. She ran the 800 at 3:07 and the 1,600 in 6:42. Mandeville’s Dabney Howard won the 800 in 2:28 and Mandeville’s Carlin Beal was victorious in the 1,600 at 5:32.
Franklinton’s 4×100 relay team was third. The team, which ran a 54.21, featured Jalyn Bickham, Nielson, Gross and Delatte. Fontainebleau won the event in 52.84.
Magee was sixth in the high jump and eighth in the long jump. She high jumped 4 feet, 6 inches and long jumped 13-1. Fontainebleau’s Ansley Scott won the high jump at 5-2 and Kentwood’s Lakirsta Johnson captured the long jump with a distance of 15-10.
Franklinton teammates Aleria Dillon and Marlaysia Robertson were fifth and ninth, respectively, in the shot put at 28-5 and 24-3. Lakeshore’s Hope Mejia won at 29-10.
Franklinton’s Miriam Tate tied Kentwood’s Bettie Ulschack for seventh in the discus while Franklinton’s Deborah Brewster and Danaria Magee tied for 13th. Miriam and Ulschack threw 72-8 while Brewster and Magee had a distance of 55-6 each. Lakeshore’s Ashley Ducre won at 111-0.
Danaria Magee was fifth in the javelin with a throw of 83-2. Destrehan’s Tayler Tabb threw a 98-4 to win.
Fontainebleau won the team competition with 127 points.
Ponchatoula was second with 117, followed by Lakeshore’s 109, Mandeville’s 64 and Destrehan’s 43. Nine teams posted points.
Franklinton recorded 28 points for seventh place.