Canoe teams successful in Bogue Chitto Race

Published 3:34 pm Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Members of Bogalusa Venturer Crew 313 took to the water Thursday through Saturday, in the 56th annual Bogue Chitto River Canoe Marathon Race.
Paddlers went 110 miles and six legs over three days.
The 313 Boys Novice Team, which raced five of the legs because of an injury in the first leg, finished in 9 hours, 22 minutes, 37 seconds to capture the win.
The team featured Zachary Kirkland, Rex Perrett, Ian Hennesy, Matthew Kirkland and Jacob Stillwell.
The Boys Advanced Aluminum Team, which did five legs because of a shortage of racers, paddled the race in 9:35.53 for the victory. The team included Matthew Dennis, Rory Breland and Brannan Crosby.
The Open Cruising Division posted a time of 9:40.33 to win.
The group included Matthew Russell, James Stevenson III, Josh Gulczynski and Chris Weintritt.
One of the coveted awards is the Spot Bankston Trophy, which goes to the winning alumni racing group. The trophy is named for a dedicated supporter of the race who passed away in 1996.
This year, the group of Paul Dauterive and Daniel Miley were victorious and was able to hold up the trophy at the awards ceremony following the race.
This week, the Crew 313 and Bush Crew 213 are in Arkansas for the 51st annual Invitational White River Canoe Race.
The competition is from Bull Shoals, Ark., and continues to Batesville, Ark.
The teams will travel 117.6 miles.
Tomorrow, they will canoe 42.6 miles before embarking on a 35-mile trip Friday and concluding the event Saturday with 40 miles on the final day.

The Novice Racing Division Team is pictured with their plaques. From left, presenter Leonard Hennessy, Matthew Kirkland, Zachary Kirkland, Rex Perrett, Ian Hennesy, Jacob Stillwell and Post 313 Assistant Advisor Jimbo Stillwell.

Shown is the Advanced Aluminum Racing Team with their awards. From left are presenter Bert Breland, Matthew Dennis, Rory Breland, Brannan Crosby and Post 313 Advisor Jimbo Stillwell.

The Washington Parish Sherriff’s Office provided a safety team for the race. Detectives Corbet Hunt (middle) and Damon Mitchell (right) are pictured with presenter Mike Henley following the Bogue Chitto Race.

The Open Cruising Racing Division is pictured with their awards. From left Assessor and presenter Jimbo Stevenson, Matthew Russell, James Stevenson III, Josh Gulczynski, Chris Weintritt and Post 313 Advisor Jimbo Stillwell.

Paul Dauterive and Daniel Miley (left and right in the middle) are pictured with the Spot Bankston Trophy and are flanked by presenter Moxie Cornwell and Charlie Weintritt. Cornwell was part of the first national championship that Crew 313 won in Arkansas in 1979.

Matthew Russell (front) and James Stevenson III (back) paddle the conclusion of the Bogue Chitto Race.