Swarm of Yellow Jackets selected to 1st-team

Published 4:13 am Saturday, July 1, 2017

Four Mt. Hermon Yellow Jackets baseball players were named first-team all-district players in the 7-B league.
Pitcher Dylan Clark, infielder Preston Knight outfielder D.J. Elzey and utility Trey Brumfield were selected first-teamers.
This season, Clark went 4-2 with a 3.60 ERA. Clark appeared in 14 games, eight starts and had 41 strikeouts and 33 walks over 44-2/3 innings.
Knight hit .338 for the season with four doubles, 27 RBIs and 14 runs scored. Knight reached base at a .438 clip.
Elzey was a .422 hitter with 20 RBIs, four doubles, three triples and 27 runs scored. Elzey posted a .493 on-base percentage.
This season, Brumfield hit  .433 and posted 15 RBIs to go with a double and 37 runs scored. Brumfield posted a .525 on-base percentage.
Four more Yellow Jackets made the second team, which included Byron Hyatt along with infielders Clinton Roux and Trenton Wilson and outfielder Gerald Bunch.
Hyatt doubled once, drove in 17 and tallied four runs.
Roux batted .333 with 14 RBIs, seven doubles and a triple. He had a .493 on-base percentage.
Wilson posted a .281 batting average with 12 RBIs, a double and 14 runs scored. Wilson had a .328 on-base percentage.
Bunch hit .250 with two RBIs, a double and six runs scored. Bunch had a .400 on-base percentage.
Remington Bankston is an all-district honorable mention player. This year, the outfielder doubled twice, drove in seven runs and scored 11 runs. He had a .327 on-base percentage.
Mt. Hermon reached the playoffs as the No. 18 seed, but suffered a 9-7 loss to 15th-seeded Doyline. Doyline lost 10-0 to quarterfinalist and second-seeded Quitman.
Holden’s Dawson Hutchinson is the league’s Most Valuable Player and his coach David White is the Coach of the Year.
Holden was the ninth-seeded team in the postseason and reached the regional round of postseason before falling to quarterfinalist and eight-seeded Zwolle.
Dawson, who is a pitcher, is joined on the first team by teammates, catchers Scott Robertson and Will Ledoux, infielder Cole Forbes, outfielder John Sharp and utility Dustin Rushing.
Slaughter Community Charter’s first-team players include pitcher Hunter Millican, infielders Charles Lily and outfielder Delvin Barber.
Slaughter was the 19th-seeded team for the playoffs, but lost to 14th-seeded Hornbeck, 7-2, in the bi-district round. Hornbeck made the regionals before falling to third-seeded and semifinalist Florien, 10-0.
Crescent City and Patrick Taylor Science and Technology had a player each on the first team.
Crescent City’s player is infielder Ryan Martin and Patrick Taylor’s player is infielder Colton Schnabel.
Crescent City made the quarterfinal or second round of the Division V playoffs, but lost to top seeded and eventual state champion Grace Christian, 25-0.
Patrick Taylor was the sixth-seeded team in the Division V playoffs, but lost to semifinalist and second-seeded Episcopal of Acadiana, 10-0.
The rest of the second team included Slaughter Community Charter pitcher Travis Chacon, Crescenty City catcher Carter Piazza, Slaughter Community Charter infielder Dimarco Gross and Holden outfielders Donald Wilkinson and Phillip Davidson.

Mt. Hermon first-team all-district player Trey Brumfield crosses the plate in a game this season.