City schools reveal employees of year

Published 5:32 am Saturday, May 27, 2017

The Bogalusa City School Board wrapped up the school year Thursday by recognizing five Teachers of the Year, a Child Nutrition Manager and Technician of the Year, and one Support Person of the Year.

The honored teachers were Danielle Crain for Denhamtown Elementary, Sharronda Smith for Byrd Avenue Elementary, Rochelle Galloway for Central Elementary, Mark Curry for Bogalusa High School sixth through eighth grades, and Matt Strahan for Bogalusa High School ninth through twelfth grades.

The Child Nutrition honorees were manager Regina Hayes at Central Elementary and technician Sharon Smith at BHS. The support Person of the Year was Darlene Lewis at Byrd Avenue Elementary.

After presenting the winners plaques for their exemplary service, board president Curtis Creel moved to amend the agenda to add one more item under new business. It was to conditionally approve the Type 1 Charter application for Northshore Charter School. The motion was unanimously approved by the board members who were present. Calvin Hymel, Adam Kemp and Brad Williams were absent.

All who were present also unanimously approved policy updates; a new breastfeeding policy, which Creel explained is for employees; a BHS Jr. ROTC field trip, a BHS Timberdolls camp; and revised financial statements and budgets.

The board also gave its unanimous approval to change the name of Central Memorial Auditorium to Gayle Jenkins Auditorium; to discard system-wide fixed assets; to a contract for Linda Johnson to serve as a mediator for Type 1 Charter School negotiations between Bogalusa City Schools and Northshore Charter School; to add a new staff position — Coordinator of Accountability and Assessment; for The Daily News to be the official school board journal for the 2017-2018 school year; for the June Committee and board meetings to both take place on June 5; and for the conditional approval of the Type 1 Charter applications.