Demons have 3 make 1st team

Published 11:51 am Monday, May 22, 2017

Three Franklinton baseball players were selected as first-team all-district players in the 8-4A league.
Pitcher Collin Dominguez, outfielder Jamarian Crain and utility player J.J. Jackson were named first-team all-district players for the Demons.
During district games, Dominguez won three of his four decisions and tallied a 2.16 ERA in the four games he pitched. Dominguez threw a pair of complete games and finished with 19 strikeouts and seven walks over 22-2/3 innings.
At the plate, Dominguez did a good job of helping himself. He posted a .360 batting average, reached base at a .429 clip and slugged .400. Dominguez doubled, drove in six runs and scored three runs.
Crain hit .480 in district play with a .567 on-base percentage and a .680 slugging percentage. Crain doubled once, tripled twice, drove in four runs and scored 10 runs during district games.
Jackson recorded a .421 batting average with a .500 on-base percentage and a .526 slugging percentage. Jackson posted a triple, four RBIs and six runs scored for Franklinton during district competition.
The Demons’ second-team players are infielders Wyatt Verret and Trent Varnado, along with catcher J.P. Magee and pitcher Hunter Maxwell.
Verret hit .231 and slugged .231 with a .355 on-base percentage during district play to go with four runs scored and three RBIs.
Varnado batted .300 with a .500 on-base percentage and .450 slugging percentage. Varnado had a double, triple, four RBIs and six runs scored in league play.
Magee posted a .227 average, .227 slugging percentage and a .370 on-base percentage. Magee recorded four RBIs and a run scored.
Maxwell started three games in district and completed all three. He went 1-2 with a save and a 2.16 ERA. Maxwell struck out 14 and walked nine in 22-2/3 innings pitched.
Franklinton made the regional round of the playoffs as the No. 18 seed, but lost the first two games of the best-of-three series to No. 2 Breaux Bridge, 12-0 and 12-2. Breaux Bridge reached the state semifinals before falling to state runner-up Tioga, the third-seeded team, 6-5.
The district’s Most Valuable Player is Salmen’s Andre Beaudoin and his coach Brian Babin is the league’s Coach of the Year.
This season, Salmen made the postseason as the 21st-seeded team and reached the semifinals before coming up short to eighth-seeded and eventual state champion Neville, 2-1.
Besides Dominguez and Beaudoin, the rest of the first-team pitchers are Pearl River’s Zachary Pool and Lakeshore’s Ryan Daughtry.
Lakeshore’s T.J. Singletary is the catcher with Pearl River’s Dylan Kavanaugh, Salmen teammates Joey Smith and Nick Talamo, along with Lakeshore’s Clarke Rush, compose the rest of the infield.
The rest of the outfielders are Lakeshore teammates Jacob Bernard and Preston Bohn.
Besides Jackson, the rest of the utility players are Salmen teammates Cole Jackson and Bryce Nichaud, along with Lakeshore’s Cameron Bucy and Loranger’s David Smith.