Pine’s Sullivan selected as 1st-team all-district player

Published 1:55 pm Friday, May 19, 2017

One Pine player made first-team all-district, two Lady Raiders were named all-district honorable-mention players and a Bogalusa resident is an all-district honorable-mention player in the 5-IV league.
Alaska Sullivan was selected a first-team all-district player.
The two honorable-mention all-district players for the Lady Raiders are Stacey Piza-Zarate and Abbi Fornea.
Bogalusa resident Kylie Nielsen, whose father Kevin owns Nielsen City Drugs, is an all-district honorable-mention player for Pope John Paul II.
There were co-Most Valuable Players in the district — Northlake Christian School’s Cassidy Arcement and Archbishop Hannan’s Mikayla Boyer.
Northlake Christian School reached the playoffs as the 13th-seeded team, but lost to No. 20 Haynes Academy, 5-3, in the opening round. Haynes made the regionals, but lost to fourth-seeded and eventual state champion Isidore Newman, 2-0.
Archbishop Hannan was the eighth-seeded team, but lost in the quarterfinals to top-seeded Ascension Episcopal, 3-1. Ascension Episcopal lost in the semifinals to Newman, 3-2.
The rest of the first-team players include Hannan’s Olivia Kelley, Kara Poche, Ashley Burke and Aubrey Bethay; Northlake Christian School’s Malia Cazalot, Emma Robison and Faith Saucier; Pope John Paul II’s Brooke Cutura, Aubrie Spring, Kylie Milligan and Caroline Cross; and St. Thomas Aquinas’ Abby McNeal and Jourdan Cheek.
Pope John Paul II made the regional of the playoffs as the 19th-seeded team before falling to third-seeded St. Frederick, 3-0. St. Frederick suffered a 1-0 loss to No. 11 Metairie Park Country Day, 1-0, in the quarterfinals.
The second-team players are Hannan’s Megan Griffin, Ashley Gros, Emily Barré, Emily Texada and Paula Harvey, Northlake Christian School’s Mallory Steele, Sophie Wall and Hannah Boren; Pope John Paul II’s Reece Lusich, Brielle Caire and Baily Brouillette; and St. Thomas Aquinas’ Hannah Reid, Alyssa Finch and Laken Neal.
The rest of the honorable-mention all-district players are Archbishop Hannan’s Caroline Standley, Isabella Dugas, Sarah Dufour and Chloe Guerin; and Pope John Paul II’s Eva Farria, Ashley Mahoney, Olivia Johnson, Macy Hanrahan, Aubrey Riggio, Emberlynn Spring, Ryley Huth, Nicole Maraia and Valentina Mattos.