Pine’s Edwards 1st-team all-district player

Published 1:57 pm Friday, May 19, 2017

Pine’s boys’ soccer team had three all-district players, including one on the first team, one on the second team and one honorable mention, this season in the 5-IV league.
Christian Edwards is a first-team player for the Raiders.
Pine’s second-team player is Randall Foster.
Hayden Jacobs is the Raiders’ all-district honorable-mention player.
The league’s Most Valuable Player is Northlake Christian School’s Clayton Gill. St. Thomas Aquinas’ Adam Hetzinger is the offensive MVP while Archbishop Hannan’s Zack Broussard is the defensive MVP.
This season, Northlake Christian reached the quarterfinal round of the playoffs as the eighth seed, but lost to top-seeded and eventual state champion Isidore Newman, 2-1.
St. Thomas Aquinas was the ninth seed in the postseason, but lost to Northlake Christian, 1-0, in the regionals.
Archbishop Hannan was the No. 11 seed, but lost in the regionals to sixth-seeded Haynes academy, 4-3. Haynes made it to the semifinals before falling to eventual state runner-up second-seeded Episcopal of Acadiana.
The rest of the first team included St. Thomas Aquinas teammates Parker Amar, Preston Phillips, Daniel Smith and Avry Townsend; Northlake Christian teammates Garret Acosta, Luke Smithson and Andrew Babineaux; Archbishop Hannan’s Victor Harvey and Bruce Doucorbier; and Pope John Paul II’s John Lenard and Logan Klotz.
Pope John Paul II reached the regionals, as the 19th-seeded team before losing to third-seeded Holy Savior Menard, 6-2. Menard fell to Haynes Academy in the quarters, 2-0.
The rest of the second team included St. Thomas Aquinas’ William Hetzinger, Hayden Gebbia, Ethan Jackson and Tyler Pierce; Northlake Christian’s Dallas West, Christian Palma, Jamie Sencial and Jack Murphy; Archbishop Hannan’s Mathew Bennett, Jordan Holcombe and Logan Forjet; and Pope John Paul II’s Tyler Blakeman and Zach Grassaffa.
The all-district honorable-mention players are St. Thomas Aquinas’ Rene Mendez and Alex Theriot; Northlake Christian School’s Ben Mackenzie, Ian Lopez, Cross Hebert and Titus Dillon; Archbishop Hannan’s Mathew Parker, Austin Meaux and Gavyn Klem; and Pope John Paul II’s Phihan Ngyuen, Luca Cutura and Jacob Blakeman.