Pine places 7 on 1st all-district team

Published 3:35 pm Thursday, December 15, 2016

Pine’s Raiders put a solid season together and was well-represented on the District 7-2A all-district teams.

The Raiders occupied seven positions on the top team.

Offensively, running back Jakyran Handy, wide receiver Chris Gordon and guard Brendon Kelly are first-team players for the Raiders. Gordon also made first team at defensive back.

On the defensive side, lineman Colby Powell, linebacker Tate Roach and flex Rion Terrell all were named to the first team.

This season, Handy ran for 1,095 yards on 198 carries (5.5 yards per carry) with 19 total touchdowns. Handy ran for 18 touchdowns and caught another.

Gordon caught 26 passes for 553 yards (21.2 yards per catch) and six touchdowns. Defensively, he made 85 tackles and picked off two passes.

Powell finished with 10 sacks this season.

Roach had 105 tackles with five sacks and an interception.

Terrell picked off three passes this season.

Pine had two second-team players, including center Donovan Kreyssig and defensive back Delvric Dillon.

The Raiders’ all-district honorable mention players are offensive linemen D.J. Thomas and Allen Freeman, quarterback Joey Seal, defensive lineman Kreyssig, linebackers Hunter Temples and Jarwin Jordan and defensive back Kaz Warren.

This season, Pine posted a 7-4 record and reached the playoffs as the 12th seed, but lost to quarterfinalist Kinder, the fifth seed, 51-0.

St. Helena College & Career Academy’s Ricky Travis, who is a first-team quarterback, is the offensive Most Valuable Player.

Northlake Christian School’s Caleb Sampson, who is a first-team defensive lineman, was named the defensive MVP.

St. Helena coach Brandon Brown is the district’s Coach of the Year.

St. Helena reached the playoffs as the No. 6 seed. They reached the semifinals, but lost to state finalist and second-seeded Madison Prep, 31-6.

Northlake Christian reached the Division III playoffs as the No. 15 team, but suffered a loss to state semifinalist and second-seeded Notre Dame, 56-14.

The rest of the first-team offensive players are St. Helena running back Aaron Hurst, Northlake Christian running back Nick Morman and Northlake Christian tight end Buddy Kyle.

Hurst is also a first-team linebacker while Morman is a first-team defensive back.

The receivers are St. Helena’s Devin Taylor, Northlake Christian’s Sam Smith and Archbishop Hannan’s Justin Wendt.

The line features Springfield center Maverick May, Pope John Paul II guard James Ramirez and St. Helena tackles O’Cyrus Torrence and Charleston Topps.

Torrence is also a first-team defensive lineman while Topps is a second-team defensive lineman.

The kicker is PJP’s Kade Dixon, St. Thomas Aquinas’ Will Hetzinger is the punter and the athlete is St. Helena’s Troy Hurst. Hurst is also a second-team running back.

Switching to defense, St. Helena’s Darryl Hampton is on the line while Northake Christian’s Jamie Sencial is a linebacker.

The rest of the defensive backs are St. Helena teammates Demetrius Brown and Damien Morgan.

Morgan is also a first-team kick returner.

Also named as a flex player is St. Thomas Aquinas’ Jacob Bordock.

The rest of the second team players are Northlake Christian quarterback Matt Whelan, Springfield running back Damariae Claiborne, St. Thomas Aquinas running back Brad Lewis and Northlake Christian running back Wesley Brown.

Claiborne is also a second-team all-district athlete.

Pope John Paul II’s Nick Mencuso is the tight end with St. Thomas Aquinas’ Jaylon Jackson and Pope John Paul II’s Anthony Chapetta at wide receiver.

The offensive line features Archbishop Hannan guard Christian Hoz, Pope John Paul II’s Kevin Rivers and St. Helena tackles Tarian Burton and Toriae Scott.

The kicker is Hannan’s Bryce Ducobier with Pope John Paul II’s Logan Klotz the punter.

Moving to defense, the rest of the line is St. Thomas Aquinas’ Zach Gras, Hannan’s Seth Caillouet and Pope John Paul II’s Peyton Smith.

The linebackers are St. Helena College & Career Academy’s Travion Tanner, Springfield’s Jon’l Fryson, St. Thomas’ Luke Dibenedetto, PJP’s Josh Phillips and Hannan’s Chris Rabensteiner.

The rest of the defensive backs are St. Helena’s Kevin Otkins, St. Thomas’ Cravion Lewis, Pope John Paul II’s Connor Crockett and Hannan’s Brock Schultis.

The kick returner is Pope John Paul II’s Connor Maples.