Ben’s Ford, Bowling Green have all-district players

Published 3:36 pm Thursday, December 15, 2016

Bowling Green School and Ben’s Ford Christian School combined for five first-team all-district players in the MAIS 5AAA league.

Three Bowling Green players were named to the first team, including offensive lineman/defensive lineman/linebacker Brandon McElveen, athlete Cameron Cowart and defensive back Kenny Robertson.

This season, McElveen made 76 tackles and had an interception.

Cowart ran for 507 yards on 102 carries (4.9 yards per carry) and five touchdowns. He also caught 17 passes for 372 yards (21.8 yards per reception) and five touchdowns. Defensively, Cowart made 43 tackles and picked off two passes.

Robertson had 41 tackles, eight interceptions and a touchdown return on a touchdown.

Ben’s Ford’s first team players are offensive lineman/defensive lineman C.J. McClelland and wide receiver/safety Cameron Byrd.

McClelland had seven sacks this year while Byrd tallied about 1,000 yards receiving.

On the second team, Bowling Green’s players included center Hampton Creel, quarterback Cameron Bell and defensive lineman Jacob Brumfield.

Bell threw for 774 yards on 50-of-108 passing (46.2 completion percentage) with seven touchdowns and six interceptions. He also ran for 378 yards on 86 carries (4.3) and seven touchdowns.

Brumfield recorded 28 stops and a sack.

Ben’s Ford’s second-team players are running back Gage Tervalon, offensive lineman/defensive lineman Adam Smith and offensive lineman/defensive lineman/running back Tyrik Bickham.

The local honorable mention all-district players are Bowling Green offensive lineman Ray Magruder, defensive linemen Tez Smith and Demarcus Fland, linebacker Nathan Case, punter Tyler Cunningham and wide receiver Austin Reedy.

Smith had 65 tackles and three sacks. Fland made 69 tackles and two sacks. Case tallied 51 tackles.

Ben’s Ford’s honorable mention all-district player was quarterback Jeremiah Slocum.

This season was a tough year for the two teams, as each missed the playoffs. Bowling Green went 3-5 while Ben’s Ford was 1-9.