Local venturer crews successful in competition: Race in Arkansas begins tomorrow

Published 6:17 am Wednesday, July 27, 2016

Bogalusa Ventuerer Crew 313 and Bush Venturer Crew 213 canoe racing teams capped off the 55th annual Bogue Chitto Race at Lock No. 3 in Sun on Saturday.

The three-day, 110-mile race, which began at the Mississippi Highway 98 Bridge in McComb, Miss., on Thursday and concluded Sunday, featured several racing divisions.

The Coed Division, which featured Crews 213 and 313, was won by the team of Lauren Haik, Kirsten Barber, Eric Richards and James Stevenson III in 14 hours, 16 minutes, 16 seconds.

Alijah Fortenberry, Matthew Dennis, Josh Gulczynski and Chase Kelehan teamed up to capture the Boys Novice Aluminum Division. The group tallied a 14:38.21.

The group of Tyler Seals, Brannan Crosby, Colby Spears, Roo Breland, Rory Breland and John Hartzog III combined to win the Advanced Aluminum Racing Division in 12:23.48.

The Open Cruising Division had the group of Elijah Moss, Patrin “Rage” Rivers, Dylan Seals and Chris Weintritt capturing the victory with a time of 13:34.37.

The event featured a pair of alumni racing divisions. Those paddlers joined the race in the final leg.

Scott Seals/Stephanie Seals were victorious in the coed division with a time of 1:38.

The duo of Daniel Miley/Paul Dauterive took home the coveted Spot Bankston Trophy. The trophy is named for a dedicated supporter of the race who passed away in 1996.

David Jenkins/Emile Frey finished second just over two minutes behind at 1:26.52 and Charles Kelehan/John Gulczynski were third after paddling in 1:30.

This week, the crews are in Arkansas for the 50th annual Invitational White River Canoe Race.

The competition is from Bull Shoals, Ark., and wraps up in Batesville, Ark.

The teams will travel 117.6 miles.

Tomorrow, they go 42.6 miles before embarking on a 35-mile trip Friday and concluding things Saturday with 40 miles on the final day.