FHS’ Anders named District 8-4A MVP, Demons’ Ginn district’s Coach of the Year

Published 7:00 am Saturday, April 9, 2016

Franklinton players were rewarded for a memorable season with the announcement of the all-district team for 8-4A.

Franklinton’s Tray Anders was named the league’s most valuable player. This season, he averaged 20 points per game, 6.3 rebounds a contest and two assists per game. He hit 89 percent of his free-throw attempts and 43 percent of his 3-pointers.

His coach Randall Ginn was selected the District 8-4A Coach of the Year.

This season, Franklinton was a district champion. The Demons tied Salmen for the best record in the league. The teams split the season series at one apiece. Franklinton’s 60-53 victory over the Spartans the week before Mardi Gras was Salmen’s first loss in district since the 2004-05 season.

The Demons went 23-7 this season and reached the regional round of the playoffs as the No. 14 seed, before falling to eventual state semifinalist Edna Karr, 71-56. Karr lost to second-seeded and eventual state runner-up Washington-Marion, 58-56.

Anders was joined on the top team by teammates Azende O. Magee and Nick Burkhalter.

Magee averaged 11.5 points, 2.6 rebounds, 6.9 assists and 5.5 steals per game. Burkhalter finished with eight points, five boards and 1.8 assists per contest. Ginn said Burkhalter was the team’s defensive stopper.

Two Franklinton players were named all-district honorable mention players, including Jadwynn Warren and Raisean Hart.

Warren tallied 6.1 points and 4.6 rebounds a game while Hart posted seven points and 6.8 boards a contest.

Ginn said the Demons were pleased at their representation on the all-district squad.

“Our kids are well respected around the district, as well as the whole metro area,” Ginn said. “Several local coaches came to support them in our two playoff games. We haven’t had a district MVP in my 10 years here — it’s always come from Salmen — so congratulations to Tray for that.

“Obviously with coach (Jay) Carlin from Salmen in our district, I had never received coach of the year. It had always gone to the district champion. Coach Carlin was gracious enough to nominate me this season.”

Three Salmen players were named all-district — John Norvel, Dietrick Stoval and Trevor Carrere.

Lakeshore had two first-team players, including Dillon Smith and C.J. Ivey.

Pearl River and Loranger had one player each on the first team.

Pearl River’s Dillon Soileau is on the top team, as is Loranger’s D.J. Hookfin.