Kelley, Roach 1st team all-district

Published 9:16 am Wednesday, December 16, 2015

A pair of Pine players — one on offense and one on defense — were selected as first-team all-district players for the 7-2A league.

Offensive lineman Brendon Kelley and linebacker Tate Roach are first-team selections for the Raiders in 2015. Kelley was also picked for the second team at defensive line.

Four Raiders players, including Kelley, were picked for the second team. Running back Adarrius Berry, offensive lineman Kabartis Ginn and defensive back Lowell Pittman are the Raiders’ second teamers.

Pine’s all-district honorable mention players are Brandon Jones, Delvric Dillon, Donovan Kreysigg, Hunter Temples and Chris Gordon.

Also making the second team is Bogalusa resident and Pope John Paul II defensive back Andrew Arata.

This season, Pine went 2-8 and reached the playoffs, but lost in the first round to East Feliciana, 36-6.

East Feliciana reached the quarterfinals, but lost to Kinder, 44-6. Kinder advanced to the Class 2A state title game.

St. Thomas Aquinas’ Cameron Dantzler is the offensive Most Valuable Player while teammate Edwin Alexander is the defensive Most Valuable Player. Aquinas coach John White is the district’s Coach of the Year.

This season, St. Thomas Aquinas reached the semifinals of the Division III playoffs, but lost to eventual state champion Notre Dame, 33-0.

Dantzler is the first-team quarterback and returner while Northlake Christian School’s Josh Landry, Springfield’s Damarie Claiborne and St. Helena College & Career Academy’s Troy Hurst are the running backs. Landry also made the top team at defensive back.

The receivers are St. Thomas Aquinas’ Brady Becerra, Archbishop Hannan’s Justin Wendt and Northlake Christian’s Zach Odenwald, and the tight end is Northlake Christian’s Buddy Kyle. Odenwald is also a second-team returner.

The rest of the offensive linemen are Northlake Christian’s Dylan Cook, Springfield’s Maverick May and St. Thomas Aquinas teammates Kitch Taylor and Roman Moschitta.

The kicker is Hannan’s Hunter Sellen. St. Thomas’ Brad Lewis is the first-team athlete. Lewis is also a second-team running back.

On defense, besides Alexander, the rest of the line includes, St. Helena’s Brandon Brumfield, Northlake Christian’s Caleb Sampson and St. Thomas’ Collin Lee.

Besides Roach, the linebacking group has Hannan’s Ryan Hensarding, St. Helena’s Chris Claiborne and St. Thomas’ Brett Bass.

The rest of the first-team defensive backs are Hannan’s Nick-Martin-Norman, St. Thomas’ Hunter Stanley and St. Helena’s Kevin Otkins. Martin-Norman is also a second-team running back.

The punter is Pope John Paul II’s Logan Klotz and St. Helena’s Darrell Hampton is the flex.

Switching to the second team, the quarterback is St. Helena’s Ricky Travis.

The wide receivers are St. Thomas’ Mason Miller, Hannan’s Payton Hudson, Northlake Christian’s Richard Humphrey and Pope John Paul II’s Tyler Blakeman. Humphrey is also a second-team kicker and Hudson is a second-team punter.

St. Helena’s Devon Taylor is the tight end.

The rest of the line includes Hannan’s Josh Parker, Northlake Christian’s Chase Jenkins, St. Helena’s Toriae Scott and St. Thomas’ Chris Boudoin.

Defensively, the rest of the linemen are Northlake Christian’s Braden Leahy, Hannan’s Andrew Schlenker and Springfield’s JoJo Kirkland.

The linebackers are St. Thomas Aquinas’ Carlos Bell, St. Helena’s Douglas Mahaffey, Pope John Paul II’s Brady Crockett and Northlake Christian’s Wesley Brown.

The defensive backs include, Springfield’s Keenan Austin, St. Thomas’ Reed Bolton and Northlake Christian’s Sam Smith.