Franklinton’s Sanford named District 6-II co-defensive MVP

Published 10:46 am Friday, April 17, 2015

Franklinton’s Haley Sanford was named co-defensive Most Valuable Player in District 6-II this year.

Sanford was the co-defensive MVP with Salmen’s Zyler Wilson.

The Lady Demons finished with an 8-6-1 record, and coach Drew Brooks was named the district’s Coach of the Year.

Sanford was one of four Lady Demons to make the top team.

The others were Bailey Fournier, Katie Herbert and Abby McNeal.

Franklinton’s second-team players include Breanna Augustine-Meredith, Lorna Smith and Alex Wyble.

Natalie Gulczynski and Ashton Keaton were named all-district honorable mention players.

Lakeshore’s Emma Claire Furman is the district’s Most Valuable player while Pearl River’s Alicia Alexander is the league’s offensive MVP.

Besides Furman, Lakeshore’s first team includes Haylee Atwell, Kaitlin Fayard, Olivia Abadie, Kaitlin Knight and Martha Santos.

This season, Lakeshore reached the playoffs as the fifth-seeded team. The Lady Titans reached the semifinals but lost to top seeded and eventual state runner up Loyola Prep, 2-0.

Besides Alexander, Pearl River’s first-team players are Shayna Washington, Alyssa Ross, Madison Roya and Victoria Stewart.

Pearl River made the postseason as the 31st-seeded club but lost to second-seeded St. Thomas More, 2-0, in the bi-district round. St. Thomas made the semifinals before falling to eventual state champion Ben Franklinton, 5-3.

The top-team players for Salmen are Kaytlin Fricke and Olivia Oakley.

Switching to the second team, Lakeshore’s Alexis Linson, Shannon Rousell and Rebecca Malmberg are the Lady Titans’ second-team players.

Ashleigh Nave, Jordan Nave and Mackenzie Schween made the second team for Pearl River.

The players for Salmen include, Alyesha Stewart and Judy La.

Lakeshore’s all-district honorable mention players are Ali Benard, Blair Boss, Jamie Raines and Sarah Mayley.

Pearl River had Kylea Milton and Bethany Moyle.

Salmen’s honorable mention list includes, Tiara Price and D’Sean Harris.