Franklinton places 2 players 1st team

Published 9:07 am Wednesday, April 8, 2015

A pair of Franklinton High School players were rewarded for having solid seasons by being named first-team all-district players, and another was named an all-district honorable mention.

Tray Anders and Nick Burkhalter were selected to the District 8-4A first team.

Anders averaged 19 points per game. He finished with 3.7 rebounds, 2.8 assists and two steals a contest.

Anders shot 46 percent from the floor, 38 percent from beyond the arc and he hit 73 percent of his free throws.

Anders was district runner up in the league’s Most Valuable Player voting.

Burkhalter had a 13.7 points per game average to go with 4.9 boards, 1.3 assists and 2.8 steals in the 2014-15 campaign.

Azende O. Magee was named to the honorable mention team.

Magee finished with 6.3 points per game, 5.9 assists, 3.4 steals and 1.7 boards per contest.

The Demons tallied an 18-9 overall record and finished in a tie District 8-4A runner up with the Lakeshore Titans.

Franklinton missed the playoffs this season.

Franklinton and Lakeshore both finished behind the district champion Salmen, which was the only team in the league to reach the postseason, won the district.

Chris Vickers was named the league’s Most Valuable Player, with his coach, Jay Carlin, winning Coach of the Year.

Salmen reached the Class 4A state playoffs as the top-seeded team. The Spartans reached the finals but lost to sixth-seeded Landry-Walker, 37-35.

Four other Salmen players made the all-district team, including Corey Vinson, Cody Rudolph, John Norvel and Lane Bolner.

Lakeshore’s players are Ashon Cook and Grant Stiebing.

Pearl River had just one player make the all-district team in A.J. Taylor.