Bowling Green has 4 picked for all-star game

Published 1:56 pm Friday, March 6, 2015

Four Bowling Green basketball players, two boys and two girls, have been selected 2014-15 MAIS All-Star Basketball players.

The boys’ and girls’ hoops teams had two representatives each.

Reagan Moody and Kristina Jerrell have been selected for the girls’ squad, and K.J. Robertson and Connor McCain are picked for the boys’ team.

The four will be playing for the South AA-AAA team in their in their respective contests, which take place at Jackson Prep, March 6. The girls’ game is scheduled for 4:30 p.m., and the boys start at 6 p.m.

“The all-star game is not just about a good senior year, but it’s about your entire career,” Bowling Green coach Pat King said. “It’s a good sending off for their high school career. All four of them had good senior years, but they all had good high school careers. What I thought was cool was that they all acknowledged to their teammates in the locker room that they got this honor because of them when they found out they made the all-star team.”

This season, Moody averaged 11 points, five rebounds, 1.6 assists and 3.1 steals. Moody connected on 43.8 percent of her field goals and was a 75.9 percent free-throw shooter.

Jerrell posted 11.6 points a game, 2.2 rebounds and 1.7 steals. Jerrell was good on 35.2 percent of her 3-pointers and 76.9 percent of her free-throws.

McCain scored 12.9 points per contest to go with 5.4 rebounds, 1.2 assists and 1.6 steals. McCain hit 52.4 percent of his field goals.

Robertson averaged nearly a double-double. He tallied 16.5 points and nine rebounds to go with 2.6 assists and 2.2 steals per game. He as good on 47.6 percent of his field goals and 36.1 percent of his 3-point attempts.

The rest of the girls’ team includes Adams County Christian School’s Skylar Adams, Columbia Academy teammates Anna Wilks and Jacklyn Wilkes, Copiah Educational Foundation’s Jamryn Vanlandingham, Oak Forest Academy’s Lindsey Neal, Presbyterian Christian School teammates Trista Magee, Reagan Dykes, Holly Hawkins and Madison Campbell and Simpson Academy’s Gracie Knight.

The head coach of the South is Prebyterian Christian School’s Missy Bilderback, and Harfield Academy’s Nathan Dancy is the assistant.

The North team includes Hillcrest Christian School’s, Arielle Grover, Indianola Academy’s Shay Wraggs, Leake Academy’s Brandy Quick, Madison-Ridgeland Academy teammates Amber Landing, Tatyana Lofton and Carlie Kellems, Pillow Academy teammates Kathleen Gallagher and Mary Key Britt, Prairie View Academy’s Amery Clark, Winona Christian School’s Sara Taylor Goss and Winston Academy teammates Darby Nowell and Katie McCool.

Winston Academy’s Jeremy Ervin is the head coach, and Leake Academy’s Amanda Hatch is the assistant.

Switching to the boys, the rest of the squad includes Adams County Christian School teammates Brandon Brooks and Jay Fleming, Brookhaven Academy’s Peyton Hood, Centreville Academy’s John Gray, East Rankin Academy’s Hayes Roden, Jackson Preparatory School teammates Case Woodward and Ben Clark, Oak Forest Academy teammates Ashton Spears and Tyler Hasson, Parklane Academy’s Henry McDonald and Wayne Academy’s Reed Wood.

Centreville Academy’s Ricky Gray is the head coach, and Oak Forest Academy’s Curtis Matherne is the assistant.

They will be going against the North. That group has Hillcrest Christian School teammates Bryce Baker and Justin Moore, Jackson Academy teammates Austin Tucker and Evans Wilkerson, Kirk Academy’s Cole Crenshaw, Leake Academy teammates Alex Shepard and Chipper Jones, Madison-Ridgeland Academy’s Ben Milam, Magnolia Heights School’s Trey Skelton, Oak Hill Academy’s Riley Pierce, River Oaks School’s J.P. Pierce and Riverfield Academy’s Marc Simmons.

River Oaks School’s Roger Stockton is the head coach, and Amite School Centers’ Eddie Miller is the assistant.