Demons have 10 first-team all-district players for football

Published 11:27 am Monday, March 2, 2015

Franklinton had a great season that took them to the Class 4A semifinals, and the players were rewarded for it with the announcement of the District 8-4A all-district team.

Ten Demons made the top squad, as the club won district with a 5-0 record and finished with a 12-2 mark.

Franklinton junior linebacker Relik Wilson and East Jefferson senior linebacker Ronte Ladmirault were named the district’s co-defensive Most Valuable Players.

Joining Wilson on the defense’s first team are linemen senior Johnathan Crain and junior Kobe Crain, senior defensive back Josh Magee and senior linebacker Justin Alford.

Offensively, the Demons’ first-teamers are senior tackle Adrian Magee, senior guard P.J. Burkhalter, junior center Zach Ginn, senior wide receiver DeAndre Allen and junior running back Azende T. Magee.

Franklinton’s Shane Smith was named the league’s Coach of the Year. The Demons made the state semifinals but lost to eventual state champion Neville, 32-8.

Neville beat Warren Easton, 28-27, for the state title.

Franklinton is 22-5 over the last two seasons. Two losses have come against the last two Class 4A state champions — Neville this season and East Jefferson last year.

FHS lost to Edna Karr in the postseason last year. Karr was the state runner up in Class 4A last season.

The Demons lost this season to Division I state semifinalist Brother Martin and 2013 Class 5A state semifinalist Covington last season.

Franklinton’s second-team players are junior offensive tackle Deante Cotton, senior offensive guard Lance Ragas, junior quarterback Michael Wilson, junior wide receiver Chandler Davis, junior running back Renaz Wilson, senior defensive lineman Dalton Talley, junior defensive back Martavious James, sophomore defensive back Marcus Conerly and senior linebacker Percy Briggs.

Franklinton’s honorable mention players are tight end Ryché Jenkins and kicker Connor Ackerman.

Lakeshore running back David Ducre and Riverdale athlete Donte Jackson were named co-offensive Most Valuable Players.

Jackson also made first-team at defensive back.

The other first-team running back is Riverdale’s Darius Bovie.

Riverdale’s Malik Clark is a first team offensive tackle.

East Jefferson’s Kendrick Johnson is an offensive guard on the top team.

Lakeshore’s Dylan Fields is the quarterback. The rest of the receiving group includes Lakeshore’s Nathan Faciane, Riverdale’s Tedrick White and Salmen’s Robert Hayes.

East Jefferson’s Elijah Rogers is the tight end.

Lakeshore punter Ryan Miller rounds out the top offensive team.

Defensively, the rest of the first team line has East Jefferson’s Jared Martin and Riverdale’s Tyrus Butler.

The rest of the defensive backs are East Jefferson’s Deshawn Raymond and Pearl River’s Zach Vicknair.

The only other linebacker on the first team is Riverdale’s Devin Cotton.

East Jefferson’s Tracey Bright is the punter and Ashon Cook is the return specialist.

Switching to the second team offense, the rest of the tackles are East Jefferson’s John Dooley and Salmen’s Alex Hughes.

Riverdale’s Justin Frost joins FHS’ Ragas at guard and the center is Salmen’s Ray Brown.

The other wide receivers are Salmen’s James Lambert, East Jefferson’s Kalib Brown, Lakeshore’s Adam Ybarzabal and Riverdale’s Carl Russell.

Lakeshore’s John Wahlen is the tight end, with East Jefferson’s Morris Sarah and Salmen’s Johnny Lowery at running back, and East Jefferson’s Josue Espinoza at kicker.

Defensively, the rest of the line has East Jefferson’s Steven Davis, Pearl River’s Jordan Cutrer, Riverdale’s Joshua Clarke and Salmen’s Phillip Semere.

The rest of the defensive backfield includes, East Jefferson’s Leonard, LeBranch, Riverdale’s Damian Edwards, and Salmen’s Erskine Francis.

The rest of the linebacking group is Salmen’s Dylan Cross, Riverdale’s Charles Burbank and East Jefferson’s Roman Edwards.

Salmen’s L.J. Leonard is the second-team punter, and Pearl River’s Devan Penton is the return specialist.

East Jefferson and Lakeshore both made the playoffs this season, as the 20th and 24th seeds, respectively.

The Warriors made it to the regional round before falling to fourth-seeded Benton, 31-19.

Lakeshore suffered a loss in the first round to ninth-seeded South Terrebonne, 25-22.

Pearl River and Salmen both missed the postseason.The Rebels went 0-10 while the Spartans had a 2-8 mark.