Pine has 3 first-team all-district players

Published 8:48 am Friday, January 23, 2015

Pine had three players selected as first-team all-district players in the District 7/8-2A league

Offensively, senior quarterback Derrick Dillon and senior lineman Jake Miller are on the first team.

Dillon made it as an athlete.

The Raiders’ defensive first-team player is back Chris Gordon.

Six Pine players were picked for the second team, including senior wide receiver Tory Robertson, freshman offensive lineman Brennon Kelly, junior running back Adarrius Berry, senior defensive lineman Seth Brown, senior linebacker Tyrais Robertson and senior punter Paul Guttuso.

The honorable mention all-district players for Pine are junior defensive lineman Markell Dillon, freshman defensive lineman Raquan Handy, and senior linebackers Dustin Provost and Matt Stuart.

This year, Pine captured its first playoff victory with a 28-20 win over St. Helena Central after reaching the postseason as the No. 15 seed.

The Raiders lost in the regional round to second-seeded Kinder, 37-6. Kinder finished as the state runner up, falling to top-seeded Many, 22-15, in the finals.

Pine ended with a 6-5 record.

Also locally, Bogalusa resident and Pope John Paul II senior Will Arata is the first-team’s punter.

Arata was the only Jaguars’ player to make the first team, but three of his teammates are second-teamers, including offensive lineman Bobby Delaney, linebacker Steven Schmitt and kick returner Chanse Caire.

The Jaguars finished this season with a 1-9 record. PJP made the Division III playoffs as the No. 14 seed but lost to third-seeded Riverside Academy, 63-7.

Riverside Academy reached the semifinals before falling to eventual state champion, second-seeded Calvary Baptist, 45-13.

St. Thomas Aquinas quarterback Cameron Dantzler is the league’s offensive Most Valuable Player while Northlake Christian School linebacker Gary Sampson is the defensive MVP. Sampson also made the second team at tight end.

St. Thomas and Northlake Christian both made it to the second round of the Division III playoffs.

St. Thomas, the sixth-seeded team, lost Riverside Academy, 34-6.

Northlake Christian, the No. 9 seed, fell to eventual state runner up and top-seeded Catholic of New Iberia, 55-14.

The first-team wide receivers are Archbishop Hannan’s Daniel Hollander, St. Helena College & Career Academy Latron Williams and St. Thomas’ Mason Miller, with St. Thomas’ Samuel Abene at tight end. Williams is also the first-team kick returner.

The rest of the offensive line includes, NCS’ Dylan Cook, Springfield’s Will Rogers, St. Thomas’ Richard Henry, and St. Helena’s Darrell Bowman.

The running backs are NCS’ Miguel Black, St. Thomas’ Ralph Haynes and Springfield’s Joshua Taylor. Black is also a first-team defensive flex.

Defensively, the linemen include St. Thomas’ Collin Lee, St. Helena’s Brandon Brumfield, Northlake Christian’s Caleb Sampson and Springfield’s Mark Patterson.

The rest of the linebackers are St. Helena’s Dussell Cooper, St. Thomas’s Brett Bass, and Springfield’s Jordan Carter.

Rounding out the defensive backs are St. Thomas’ Brad Shafer, Springfield’s Milan Love and NCS’ Josh Landry. Love is also a second-team quarterback while Landry is a second-team kicker.

Switching to the specialists, the rest are Springfield kicker Michael Sykes.

Switching to the second-team offense, the rest of the receivers are Northlake Christian’s Zack Odenwald and Springfield’s Zach Jackson.

Besides Delaney, the linemen are Springfield’s Jonavon Roberts, Hannan’s Shaun Seiler, and NCS’ Chase Jenkins.

The rest of the running backs include, St. Helena teammates Dussell Cooper and Sidney Banks. Banks also made the second team at linebacker

Moving to defense, the rest of the linemen are Hannan’s Mitch Morel, Springfield’s Joseph Kirkland, and St. Thomas’ Jesse Hester.

The rest of the linebacking group has Northlake Christian’s Adam Riché, and St. Helena’s Trent Tanner.

The defensive backs are St. Helena’s Lajorious Floyd, Hannan’s Griffin Hakenjos, St. Thomas’ Hunter Stanley and Springfield’s Keenan Austin.

Hannan made the Division III playoffs as the No. 11 seed and lost to St. Thomas Aquinas, 32-7, in the opening round.

Springfield was in the Class 2A playoffs as the seventh-seeded team and made it to the quarterfinals before falling to second-seeded Kinder, 42-14.