Franklinton gives out team awards for softball team

Published 12:44 pm Friday, May 30, 2014

Franklinton’s young softball team, which featured no seniors this year, held its awards banquet for the varsity and junior varsity teams.
The club finished with a 14-13 record and made the Class 4A playoffs before falling 11-0 against seventh seeded Benton in the opening round. Benton made it to the quarterfinals, but lost to 15th seeded North DeSoto 19-1.
Baylee Mixon was named the team’s Most Valuable Player.
She also received awards for being a third-year letterman, making District 8-4A first-team All-District outfielder and for leading the leading the team in batting average (.511) and slugging percentage (.611).
Laken Spears is a third-year letterman. She was a second-team All-District selection at catcher and she led the team in fielding percentage (.979).
Haley Sanford is also a third-year letterman and received first-team all-district honors at utility.
Katelyn Capo was recognized for being a third-year letterman.
Macy Purvis is a second-year letterman and she made the second-team for 8-4A at infield.
Faith Chauvin is also a second-year letterman and was recognized on the all-district team as an honorable mention.
Austen Felder is a second-year letterman and got all-district honors on the second team at outfielder.
Carley Shipley is also a second-year letterman.
Anna Miley is a first-year letterman and received the Coaches Award.
Samantha Buttone was recognized for being a third-year letterman and she made the honorable mention list for all district.
Hannah Adams, a second-team All-District selection as a pitcher, is a first-year letterman.
Shelby McDonald is also a first-year letterman and she made the first team as an infielder.
Lexi Williams, Alex Wyble and Bethany Sandifer are first-year lettermen and all three are all-district honorable mention.
Alaina Fussell is a first-year letterman.
Kalie Buffinet is a first-year letterman. This season, she made first team All-District and led the Lady Demons in stolen bases (23).
Haley Dillon was one of several players to receive the JV Award. Dillon was also selected as the team’s Most Improved Player.
The rest of the junior varsity award winners are Janet Coste, Stephanie Crowe, Staci Hathcox, Madelyn Cupp, Morgan Stafford and Ryan Smith.
The managers are Victoria Murphy, Emily Brock, Madison Peco, Madison Villere and Madysan Seal.