10 Franklinton players selected to 8-4A’s all-district 1st team

Published 11:45 pm Thursday, December 26, 2013

Franklinton had a good season in 2013 and was rewarded for it by placing 10 players on District 8-4A’s first team.

The Demons recorded a 10-3 record, with its losses coming to some of the top teams in the state.

Franklinton’s setbacks came against Class 5A state semifinalist Covington and the Class 4A state finalists East Jefferson and Edna Karr.

FHS reached the state quarterfinals as the seventh seed before falling to state runner-up and second-seeded Karr, 26-0.

The Demons’ first-team offensive players are junior tackle Adrian Magee, senior guard Devin Lewis, senior receivers Donovan Alonzo and Daryl Fortenberry and sophomore running back Renaz Wilson.

Besides being a first-team all-district player, Magee has also been named an all-state player by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

This season, Alonzo caught a team leading 36 passes for 694 yards (19.2 yards per reception) and was second for the Demons with seven touchdown catches.

Fortenberry finished with 27 receptions for 510 yards (18.8 yards per catch) and a team best 10 scores.

Wilson ran for 916 yards on 159 carries (5.7 yards per tote) and 12 touchdowns.

Defensively, the first-team Demons are senior end Shunti Conerly, junior tackle Jonathan Crain, backs Josh Magee and Charmal Magee and senior linebacker Enrique Garrett.

During the regular season Conerly made 67 tackles, eight for loss, while recording five sacks. Crain logged 42 tackles, eight for loss and sack.

Josh Magee posted 32 tackles while intercepting five passes and knocking down eight. Charmal Magee was in on 40 stops, two for loss. Garrett made 51 tackles, 11 for loss, with five sacks.

The Demons also had eight players make the all-district second team.

Offensively, junior guard Lance Ragas, senior quarterback Ron Robinson, sophomore wide receiver Azende T. Magee (who was also named the second-team athlete) and junior center P.J. Burkhalter made the list.

On the defensive list are sophomore free safety Martavis James, senior linebacker/strong safety Pierre Wilson, senior punter Rhett Tynes and sophomore linebacker Relik Wilson, who made the team as a flex player.

FHS’ honorable mention players are senior linebacker Taylor Scott, senior offensive tackle Adam Boyd and junior wide receiver D’Andre Allen.

State champion East Jefferson’s senior quarterback Eugene Wells was named the offensive Most Valuable Player, while teammate senior linebacker Edgar Jackson is the defensive MVP. East Jefferson coach Nick Saltformaggio was selected the district’s Coach of the Year.

The rest of East Jefferson’s offensive first-team players are senior left tackle Chris Cockran, senior left guard Alvin Rogers, senior center Ruben Gutierrez, junior tight end Elijah Rogers, senior running back Ronald Green and junior kicker Isaac Espinoza. Green is a second-team return specialist.

Besides Jackson, the defensive players for East Jefferson are, junior end Maurice Tucker, senior backs Jamal Veazy and Deshawn Raymond along with senior linebacker Hakeem Poche and junior linebacker Ronte Ladmirault.

Lakeshore’s first-team players are senior return specialist Xavier Chatman, junior running back David Ducre III and junior lineman Micah Udeh. Chatman is also a second-team wide receiver.

Salmen’s first team players are senior punter Joey McLeod and senior wide receiver Joe Pack. McLeod is also a first-team flex player.

Riverdale’s first team players are junior receiver Donte Jackson and senior athlete D’Ondre Joseph. Jackson also made three positions on the second team, including return specialist, defensive back and athlete. Joseph is also a second-team athlete.

Others making the second team were:

• Lakeshore — senior right tackle Phil Gorney, junior quarterback Dylan Fields, senior receiver Rex Shephard, junior running back Davonte Diaz, freshman kicker Ryan Miller, senior defensive lineman Rakeem Robinson, sophomore defensive lineman Kavondre Williams, senior linebacker Tyler Prestenbach and junior linebacker Kendale Johnson.

• Riverdale — freshman left tackle Malik Clark, sophomore left guard Justin Frost, senior receiver Lorenzo Cryer, junior center Nick Tackey, senior defensive back Greg Jinks and senior inside linebacker Joe Parr.

• East Jefferson — senior tight end Michael Chavez, senior running back Jerome Smith and sophomore defensive lineman Jared Martin. Chavez is also a second-team defensive lineman.

• Pearl River — junior running back Devan Penton.

• Salmen — junior athlete Ashon Cook and senior free safety Aaron Craig. Cook also made it at running back.