Franklinton’s Cooper finishes 2nd in javelin at CHS meet

Published 12:34 am Wednesday, April 10, 2013

Franklinton’s Quinton Cooper finished second in the javelin at the Allie Smith Invitational Friday at Covington High School.

Cooper threw the javelin 157 feet and was behind Covington’s Alex Hatcher (176-7). FHS’ Kobe Crain (93-10) was 20th.

Lakeshore’s Cyril Crutchfield was named the track MVP, while Ponchatoula’s Steven Barze was selected the field MVP.

Crutchfield won the 300-meter hurdles (40.47) with Franklinton’s Azende Magee (49.34) 16th.

Barze was the only boys’ double-event winner, capturing the high jump (6-4) and triple jump (43-5). Franklinton’s Tavion Partman (36-0) was 16th in the triple jump.

Ponchatoula topped the 12-team meet with 110 points.

Slidell (68) was second, followed by Salmen (64), Covington (56) and Lakeshore (51).

Franklinton (8) was 12th.

Salmen’s Deonte Cooper won the 100 (10.90) with FHS’ Magee (11.87) 19th.

Northshore’s Nick Houston took the 200 (22.42), as Franklinton’s Martavius James (23.26) was 10th. Houston’s teammate John Neal bested the 800 (2:05) and Noah Martin topped the 1,600 (4:39).

FHS’ Da’Keithan Gholar (2:36) was 19th in the 800, and Demons’ teammates Gholar (5:40) and Nathan Polk (5:56) ran 17th and 18th in the 1,600.

Covington’s Mitch Brumfield won the 400 (50.19).

FHS’ Josh Owens (56.36) placed 13th.

Ponchatoula’s Mike Perez was victorious in the 3,200 (10:21), while teammate Christian Campbell won the 110 hurdles (15.39). Franklinton’s Owens (21.11) was 13th.

In the relays, Covington topped the 4×100 (43.27) with Slidell (1:31) first in the 4×200 (1:31) and Ponchatoula best in the 4×400 (3:32).

Franklinton’s 4×100 squad (46.68) was ninth. It consisted of James, Magee, Chandler Davis and Ron Robinson.

The 4×200 squad (1:36), which was ninth, had James, Charmarl Magee, Kemo Magee and Edward Vernon.

The 4×400 group (4:06), featuring Owens, Partman, Azende Magee and Brady Goings, was ninth.

St. Paul’s Cameron Robichaux topped the pole vault (13-6), while Slidell’s Jamil Evans won the long jump (23-9).

Ponchatoula’s Aaron Basso was the shot put (49-2) champion. Franklinton’s Adrian Magee (37-10) and Linton Brumfield (30-3) were 13th and 23rd.

Lakeshore’s Brandon Ducre topped the discus (146-11), as Franklinton’s Adrian Magee (83-11) and Crain (71-2) were 22nd and 24th.