Bogalusa’s Keys named District 8-3A MVP

Published 8:26 am Sunday, March 10, 2013

Bogalusa’s LaDamion Keys was named a District 8-3A co-Most Valuable Player and coach Ken Martin received Coach of the Year Honors as the all-district team was announced.

Keys was named the co-MVP with Amite junior Bobby Williams. Keys averaged a triple-double in district with 24 points, 15 rebounds and 10 blocks per game.

The junior said it was all right getting the honor, but added it would’ve been better had they won a state title.

“I don’t get excited about individual awards because there’s no ‘I’ in team,” Keys said.

Coach Martin said in his mind, Keys is one of the best players in the state.

“If he’s not the top player in the state, I don’t know who is,” Martin said.

Martin received Coach of the Year after guiding the Lumberjacks to a 19-7 overall record and 9-1 in district. The Lumberjacks captured their third league title in four years and made the postseason as a No. 8 seed, but lost to 25th seeded West Feliciana 68-54 in the bi-district round.

Coach Martin said he’s fortunate to have some really good players.

“I’m just thankful for the team I have,” Martin said.

“It’s just been a great group of guys, a strong senior class and I’m certainly going to miss them,” Martin added.

Lumberjacks’ senior Brian Williams, who was a four-year starter, is also a first teamer. In district, Williams averaged 18 points, seven rebounds and five assists per contest.

Also being selected to the first team was Albany senior Scott DePaula and Amite sophomore James Harvey.

The second team included Independence juniors LaDarrius Butler and Keylan Spears along with Loranger sophomore Jason Hall, Amite sophomore Jermy Hayes and Jewel Sumner freshman Timmie Brumfield.

Four Lumberjacks were named honorable mention, including Rodney Crumedy, Trevonne Mingo, Donel Magee and Codero Brown.

Albany and Sumner also had four honorable selections.

Albany’s Ray McArrol, Quincy Sykes, Landon Morgan and Logan Link were selected along with Sumner’s Benjamin Jones, Miguel James, Ryken Anthony and Darrion Robertson.

Independence had three, including Jacontio Day, Reggie Maryland and Rontyrion Crawford.

Amite had two with Keyshun Hughes and Michael Johnson.