Louisiana Supreme Court Justice William J. Crain Named Crimefighters, Inc. Judge of the Year

Published 3:08 pm Friday, August 4, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

New Orleans, LA – Louisiana Supreme Court Justice William J. Crain was honored by Crimefighters, Inc. with the Judge of the Year Award at the organization’s annual gala on July 25, 2023.

Crimefighters, Inc., Louisiana’s largest victims’ rights organization, represents more than 12,500 victims or family members of victims of crime throughout the state. The organization’s board of over fifty members, comprised primarily of law enforcement leaders, is a leading advocate for protecting the rights of victims and promoting the benefits of our criminal justice system.

“Receiving this distinguished award from a group of volunteers committed to advocating for the rights of crime victims is truly an honor,” said Justice Crain. “Their efforts have supported victims of crime for nearly 30 years, and have resulted in protections now found in both our statutory and constitutional law. I applaud their efforts and am humbled that they would select me for this award.”

Justice Crain has served on the Louisiana Supreme Court since 2019. Prior to his election to the high court, he served on the First Circuit Court of Appeal. From 2009 to 2013 he was a judge on the Twenty-Second Judicial District Court for St. Tammany and Washington Parishes. Justice Crain earned his juris doctor degree from Louisiana State University Paul M. Hebert Law Center in 1986 and his bachelor’s degree from Louisiana State University in 1983. Prior to his election to the district court, he maintained a general litigation law practice for 22 years handling complex judge and jury trial cases. He has been a lecturer at continuing legal education seminars on many topics including “Evidence and Persuasion at Trial”, “Professionalism” and writ and appellate practice. He co-chairs the Board of Governors of the Louisiana Judicial College and formerly served as President of the Board. He also chairs the Court Cost Committee of the Louisiana Judicial Council, has served on the Supreme Court Committee on Judicial Ethics, and was a member of the 2011 inaugural class of the Louisiana Judicial Leadership Institute.