Early voting opens Saturday, Oct. 30

Published 2:10 pm Tuesday, October 26, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Louisiana Secretary of State Kyle Ardoin is reminding voters that early voting for the Saturday, Nov. 13, election begins Saturday, Oct. 30, and continues through Saturday, Nov. 6, excluding Sunday, Oct. 31. Citizens who want to early vote may do so in person at their parish Registrar of Voters office or at other designated locations. In Washington Parish, those locations are Northshore Technical Community College’s Sullivan campus in Bogalusa and the Washington Parish Courthouse in Franklinton.

  • Twelve parishes will vote in local races and on propositions and constitutional amendments: Washington, St. Tammany, Bossier, Calcasieu, East Baton Rouge, Lafayette, Lafourche, Morehouse, Orleans, Ouachita, St. Landry and Vernon.

In Washington Parish, the two non-statewide measures on the ballot both pertain to the city of Bogalusa. First, voters in the city’s 15 precincts will select one of two candidates for Bogalusa city prosecutor — either Democrat “Tina” Ratliff or independent Trent Temples.

Second, city residents will vote on whether to renew a 5-mill tax proposition for another 10 years.

All voters will also have their say on four state constitutional amendments. Amendment No. 1 would authorize streamlined electronic filing, remittance, and collection of sales and use tax; Amendment No. 2 would lower the maximum allowed rate of income tax and allow providing a deduction for federal income taxes; Amendment No. 3 would allow certain levee districts to levy an annual tax for certain purposes; and Amendment No. 4 would increase the amount of allowed reduction to certain dedicated funds when a budget deficit is projected.

  • Seven parishes will vote in local races and on constitutional amendments: Ascension, Avoyelles, Caddo, Catahoula, Iberia, Rapides and Richland.
  • 24 parishes will vote on local propositions and Constitutional Amendments: Acadia, Allen, Assumption, Beauregard, Bienville, Claiborne, Evangeline, Franklin, Grant, Jefferson, Lincoln, Madison, Plaquemines, Sabine, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. John, St. Martin, St. Mary, Terrebonne, Union, Vermilion, West Carroll and West Feliciana.
  • 21 parishes will only vote on Constitutional Amendments: Tangipahoa, Caldwell, Cameron, Concordia, DeSoto, East Carroll, East Feliciana, Iberville, Jackson, Jefferson Davis, LaSalle, Livingston, Natchitoches, Pointe Coupee, Red River, St. Helena, St. James, Tensas, Webster, West Baton Rouge and Winn.

Voters are encouraged to utilize Louisiana’s free, award-winning smartphone app, GeauxVote Mobile, to locate parish early voting locations, Election Day voting site, or view their sample ballot. GeauxBot, the virtual voter assistant, is also available to access pertinent election information such as registration deadlines, election dates, polling locations, and hours. GeauxBot is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week by visiting voterportal.sos.la.gov or by selecting “Elections and Voting” on sos.la.gov.

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, polling commissioners will be supplied with personal protective equipment and will regularly sanitize designated areas and wipe down voting machines between each voter. Hand sanitizer will be provided to voters and masks are recommended, although not required.

In addition to a Louisiana driver’s license, a Louisiana Special ID or a generally recognized ID with picture and signature, voters may use a digital license via LA Wallet.

For more information, contact the Elections Division at 1-800-883-2805 or elections@sos.la.gov.