Lawrence Mikeska

Published 2:11 pm Friday, May 14, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Lawrence Ray Mikeska, 81, a resident of Franklinton, passed away peacefully Tuesday afternoon, May 11, 2021, at Riverside Medical Center. He was born Oct. 14, 1939 in Shiner, Texas, and moved to Washington Parish as a young man.

Lawrence has a lifetime career in the oil and petroleum industry as a drilling consultant, working for many years alongside Anadarko before retiring from B.H.P. Billiton. He was currently a member of First Baptist Church of Franklinton. He was previously a longtime active member of Isabel Baptist Church and served as a church deacon for 38 years. Lawrence loved to play golf as often as he could, including early Saturday mornings with his “Dew Busters” group, and was a member of the Franklinton Country Club.

He is survived by: wife, Kathy Byrd Mikeska of Franklinton; two daughters and son-in-law, Michelle Krebs of Mandeville and Kory and Matt Magee of Franklinton; grandchildren, Jessica Krebs, Erica Krebs both of Port Allen, Texas, Graham Rhoden, and Nora Kate Rhoden both of Franklinton; brother and sister-in-law, Sherwood and Glenda Mikeska of Victoria, Texas; sister-in-law, Jan Mikeska of Galveston, Texas; mother-in-law, Nora Byrd; brother-in-law and sister-in-law, Cook and Glenda Byrd; sister-in-law and brother-in-law, Shirley and Dane Lewis; and also numerous nieces, nephews and many friends.

He was preceded in death by his first wife, Chrystle Rae Freeman Mikeska; son, Douglas Mikeska; parents, Rudy Mikeska and Sidonia DeHarde Mikeska; brother, Wayne Mikeska; father-in-law and mother-in-law, Curt and Versie Freeman; brothers-in-law, Dale Freeman and Bobby Freeman; and father-in-law, Willie Lamar Byrd.

Visitation was at Crain Funeral Home on Thursday, May 13, from 10 a.m. until 2 p.m. A funeral service was held in the funeral home chapel at 2 p.m. on Thursday, May 13, with Rev. Jeff Mizell officiating. Burial followed in the Isabel Baptist Church Cemetery.

Pallbearers were Mike Freeman, Chance Rhoden, Graham Rhoden, Charles Wayne Talley, Joel Byrd, Tim Butts and Donnie Wells. Honorary pallbearers were Wayne Bush and Matt Magee.