Tax renewal passes in parish

Published 11:24 am Sunday, December 6, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Voters in Washington Parish have approved the renewal of 10 mills of property tax, to go toward the maintenance of parish roads and bridges.

During Saturday’s election, voters in the parish approved the tax renewal. A total of 2,737 voters (64 percent) voted in favor of the renewal, and 1,520 voters (36 percent) voted against it.

Voters in Washington Parish Fire District No. 7 voted down a proposed $29.67 parcel fee for 10 years. A total of 482 voters (65 percent) voted against the proposed fee, and 259 voters (35 percent) voted in favor of it.

Also Saturday, voters in the Town of Franklinton chose two more members of the board of aldermen. Heath Spears earned the most votes in the four-candidate runoff, with 414 (27 percent). Seth Descant was second in the runoff, with 398 votes (26 percent).

The other two candidates were Jeamie F. “J” McCullen, with 375 votes (25 percent) and Frankie Crosby Sr., with 340 votes (22 percent).

All other races on Saturday’s ballot were held over a multi-parish area, or statewide. Results were as follows:

  • U.S. House of Representatives, 5th Congressional District — Luke J. Letlow defeated Lance Harris in a run-off election. Letlow, a Republican, will replace outgoing U.S. Dr. Rep. Ralph Abraham. Letlow earned 49,182 votes (62 percent) in the district, to Harris’ 30,124 votes (38 percent).
  • Public Service Commission, District 1 — Erik Skrmetta, the Republican incumbent, defeated Democratic Party challenger Allen H. Borne Jr. Skrmetta earned 55,987 votes (62 percent) in the district, to Borne’s 34,639 votes (38 percent).
  • Republican State Central Committee Member, 12th Senatorial District, Division E — Roy K. Burns Jr. defeated Darryl D. Peterson in a close race. Burns earned 452 votes in the district, while Peterson earned 448.
  • Constitutional Amendment No. 1 — Voters statewide rejected an amendment that would have allowed out-of-state residents to serve on a public postsecondary education board of supervisors. A total of 385,656 votes (76 percent) voted against it, and 118,651 voters (24 percent) voted in favor of it.

All results are unofficial and reported by the Louisiana Secretary of State’s Office.