Crain, Edwards elected

Published 3:51 am Wednesday, November 20, 2019

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Bogalusa native Judge Will Crain was elected to the Louisiana Supreme Court, and Democratic Gov. John Bel Edwards earned a second term in the runoff election held Saturday.

Crain, a Republican, defeated fellow Republican Judge Hans Liljeberg in the race to fill the open associate justice seat on the Louisiana Supreme Court in the 1st Supreme Court District. Crain defeated Liljeberg district-wide by a total of 127,211 votes (57 percent) to 94,875 votes (43 percent).

Crain was especially strong in Washington Parish, where he received 10,546 votes (88 percent) to Liljeberg’s 1,412 votes (12 percent).

Crain will join the Supreme Court immediately. He is the first Washington Parish native to be elected to the state’s highest court.

Also in Saturday’s election, Republican Joe Culpepper defeated Democratic challenger Melvin Keith in the runoff election for the Washington Parish Council District 1 seat. Culpepper received 1,066 votes (54 percent) to Keith’s 892 votes (46 percent).

In the race for state governor, Edwards fended off a challenge from Republican Eddie Rispone. Among all state voters, Edwards received 774,476 votes (51.3 percent) to Rispone’s 734,136 votes (48.7 percent) — a difference of 40,370 votes.

In Edwards’ first election in 2015, he defeated Republican challenger David Vitter by 56.1 percent to 43.9 percent — a difference of 140,984 votes.

Among just Washington Parish voters, Rispone received 6,678 votes (52 percent) to Edwards’ 6,214 votes (48 percent).

The unofficial turnout in Washington Parish was 46.9 percent of voters.

Other state and district races, along with the results among just parish voters, were:

  • Secretary of State — Kyle Ardoin (Republican) defeated Gwen Collins-Greenup (Democratic), with Ardoin taking 59 percent of the statewide vote. Ardoin won among parish voters, with 65 percent.
  • BESE, District 6 — Ronnie Morris (R) defeated Gregory Spiers (R), with Morris taking 72 percent of the district-wide vote. Morris also won 72 percent of the parish voters.
  • District Judge, 22nd Judicial District Court, Division F — Vinny Lobello (R) defeated Harold Bartholomew Jr. (R), with Lobello taking 54 percent of the district-wide vote. Bartholomew won among parish voters, with 51 percent.

For a complete list of the unofficial election results, visit the Louisiana Secretary of State’s website at