Polls open at 7 a.m. for election

Published 3:29 am Saturday, October 12, 2019

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Louisiana Secretary of State Kyle Ardoin is reminding citizens that Saturday, Oct. 12, is Election Day in all 64 parishes. There are candidate races and constitutional amendments in all parishes, in addition to propositions in 26 parishes.

In preparation for Saturday’s Election Day activities, Ardoin is encouraging voters to remember:

  • Polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m. Anyone in line at 8 p.m. will be allowed to vote.
  • Voters can find their polling location and sample ballot by downloading the free GeauxVote Mobile app for smartphones or by visiting www.GeauxVote.com.
  • Voters can also sign up for text alerts via GeauxVote Mobile.
  • Voters should bring an ID with them to vote (Louisiana driver’s license, Louisiana Special ID card, a generally recognized picture identification card with name and signature such as a passport or a digital license via LA Wallet). Voters without an ID will be required to fill out an affidavit, but will be allowed to vote.
  • Election results can be viewed in real-time via GeauxVote Mobile or the secretary of state’s website at www.sos.la.gov.

All Washington Parish voters will be eligible to vote for the statewide races of governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, attorney general, state treasurer, commissioner of agriculture and forestry, and commissioner of insurance. If there are any runoffs required in these state races, they will be included in the ballot for the Nov. 16 general election.

All parish voters will also be able to vote in the races for parish sheriff, parish president, parish coroner, Associate Justice on the 1st Louisiana Supreme Court District, Louisiana State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) District 6, Division F judge of the 22nd Judicial District Court, and state senator for District 12.

Other races will only be listed on a voter’s ballot if that voter lives in an area that is included in the race’s district. These races include state representatives for District 74 and District 75, and Washington Parish Council seats.

Voters throughout the parish will also be asked to vote on four proposed state constitutional amendments, as well as a proposition to amend and restate the Home Rule Charter for Washington Parish. In Bogalusa, voters will be asked whether or not to renew three property tax referendums.

Any races that require a runoff will be included in the ballot for the runoff election.

Local results will be published Saturday evening online at www.bogalusadailynews.com, as soon as they are available.

Candidates for each race are as follows:

  • State Senator, 12th District — Darrell Fairburn (Democratic), “Beth” Mizell (Republican).
  • State Representative, 74th District — “Larry” Frieman (R), Cindy Renee Winch (D).
  • State Representative, 75th District — Phillipp Bedwell (R), Malinda Brumfield White (D).
  • District Judge 22nd Judicial District Court, Division F — Harold Bartholomew Jr. (R), John Keller (R), Julie Miramon Knight (R), Karen S. Kovach (D), Vincent J. “Vinny” Lobello (R), Laurie M. Pennison (R), Kevin S. Vogeltanz (No party).
  • Washington Parish Sheriff — Randy “Country” Seal (D), Olander “Smitty” Smith (D), Demille Topps (D).
  • Washington Parish Coroner — Rogelio A. “Roger” Casama (D), John “Trey” Tucker (D).
  • Washington Parish President — Ryan Seal (R), Richard Ned Thomas (D).
  • Washington Parish Council, District 1 — “Joe” Culpepper (R), Melvin Keith (D), “Perry” Talley (D).
  • Washington Parish Council, District 2 — Kendall L. Amacker (R), Shawn Rice (R).
  • Washington Parish Council, District 3 — “Kim” Wagner (R), Christopher Workman (R).
  • Washington Parish Council, District 4 — Clark Harry (D), Gloria W. Kates (D).
  • Washington Parish Council, District 6 — Reginald McMasters (D), Shane Smith (Independent).
  • Washington Parish Council, District 7 — David Anthony (No party), Carley King (R).
  • Governor — Ralph Abraham (R), Oscar “Omar” Dantzler (D), John Bel Edwards (D), Gary Landrieu (I), Patrick “Live Wire” Landry (R), “Eddie” Rispone (R).
  • Lieutenant governor — Willie Jones (D), William “Billy” Nungesser (R).
  • Secretary of state — Kyle Ardoin (R), “Gwen” Collins-Greenup (D), Thomas J. Kennedy III (R), Amanda “Jennings” Smith (R).
  • Attorney general — “Ike” Jackson Jr. (D), “Jeff” Landry (R).
  • Treasurer — Derrick Edwards (D), Teresa Kenny (No party), John M. Schroder (R).
  • Commissioner of agriculture and forestry — Marguerite Green (D), “Charlie” Greer (D), Michael G. “Mike” Strain (R), Peter Williams (D), Bradley Zaunbrecher (R).
  • Commissioner of insurance — James J. “Jim” Donelon (R), “Tim” Temple (R).
  • Associate Justice Supreme Court, 1st Supreme Court District — “Will” Crain (R), Richard Ducote (R), Hans Liljeberg (R), Scott Schlegel (R).
  • BESE District 6 — Vickie Tolliver Auguste (I), Ciara Hart (D), “Ronnie” Morris (R), Gregory Spiers (R).