Early voting opens Saturday

Published 3:29 am Wednesday, September 25, 2019

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Early voting opens this Saturday, for citizens who wish to cast their votes early in the Oct. 12 gubernatorial primary election — as well as in many local and state races.

Early voting will be held Saturday, Sept. 28, through Saturday, Oct. 5 (except for Sunday, Sept. 29), from 8:30 a.m. until 6 p.m. Locations are the Northshore Technical Community College’s Sullivan campus in Bogalusa, and the Washington Parish Courthouse in Franklinton.

Voters will be asked to identify themselves with either a photo ID or a signature on a voter affidavit. Voters may use a driver’s license, Louisiana special ID, Louisiana Wallet digital driver’s license, or some other generally recognized picture ID that has a name and signature.

All Washington Parish voters will be eligible to vote for the statewide races of governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, attorney general, state treasurer, commissioner of agriculture and forestry, and commissioner of insurance. If there are any runoffs required in these state races, they will be included in the ballot for the Nov. 16 general election.

All parish voters will also be able to vote in the races for parish sheriff, parish president, parish coroner, Associate Justice on the 1st Louisiana Supreme Court District, Louisiana State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) District 6, Division F judge of the 22nd Judicial District Court, and state senator for District 12.

Other races will only be listed on a voter’s ballot if that voter lives in an area that is included in the race’s district. These races include state representatives for District 74 and District 75, and Washington Parish Council seats.

Voters throughout the parish will also be asked to vote on four proposed state constitutional amendments, as well as a proposition to amend and restate the Home Rule Charter for Washington Parish. In Bogalusa, voters will be asked whether or not to renew three property tax referendums.

Any races that require a runoff will be included in the ballot for the runoff election on Saturday, Nov. 16.

For more information on state and local elections, visit the Louisiana Secretary of State’s website at www.sos.la.gov.


Candidates for each race are as follows:

  • State Senator, 12th District — Darrell Fairburn (Democratic), “Beth” Mizell (Republican).
  • State Representative, 74th District — “Larry” Frieman (R), Cindy Renee Winch (D).
  • State Representative, 75th District — Phillipp Bedwell (R), Malinda Brumfield White (D).
  • District Judge 22nd Judicial District Court, Division F — Harold Bartholomew Jr. (R), John Keller (R), Julie Miramon Knight (R), Karen S. Kovach (D), Vincent J. “Vinny” Lobello (R), Laurie M. Pennison (R), Kevin S. Vogeltanz (No party).
  • Washington Parish Sheriff — Randy “Country” Seal (D), Olander “Smitty” Smith (D), Demille Topps (D).
  • Washington Parish Coroner — Rogelio A. “Roger” Casama (D), John “Trey” Tucker (D).
  • Washington Parish President — Ryan Seal (R), Richard Ned Thomas (D).
  • Washington Parish Council, District 1 — “Joe” Culpepper (R), Melvin Keith (D), “Perry” Talley (D).
  • Washington Parish Council, District 2 — Kendall L. Amacker (R), Shawn Rice (R).
  • Washington Parish Council, District 3 — “Kim” Wagner (R), Christopher Workman (R).
  • Washington Parish Council, District 4 — Clark Harry (D), Gloria W. Kates (D).
  • Washington Parish Council, District 6 — Reginald McMasters (D), Shane Smith (Independent).
  • Washington Parish Council, District 7 — David Anthony (No party), Carley King (R).
  • Governor — Ralph Abraham (R), Oscar “Omar” Dantzler (D), John Bel Edwards (D), Gary Landrieu (I), Patrick “Live Wire” Landry (R), “Eddie” Rispone (R).
  • Lieutenant governor — Willie Jones (D), William “Billy” Nungesser (R).
  • Secretary of state — Kyle Ardoin (R), “Gwen” Collins-Greenup (D), Thomas J. Kennedy III (R), Amanda “Jennings” Smith (R).
  • Attorney general — “Ike” Jackson Jr. (D), “Jeff” Landry (R).
  • Treasurer — Derrick Edwards (D), Teresa Kenny (No party), John M. Schroder (R).
  • Commissioner of agriculture and forestry — Marguerite Green (D), “Charlie” Greer (D), Michael G. “Mike” Strain (R), Peter Williams (D), Bradley Zaunbrecher (R).
  • Commissioner of insurance — James J. “Jim” Donelon (R), “Tim” Temple (R).
  • Associate Justice Supreme Court, 1st Supreme Court District — “Will” Crain (R), Richard Ducote (R), Hans Liljeberg (R), Scott Schlegel (R).
  • BESE District 6 — Vickie Tolliver Auguste (I), Ciara Hart (D), “Ronnie” Morris (R), Gregory Spiers (R).